The foolishness of God (Day 4)


Today’s reading in the 21 day challenge is 1 Corinthians 1:18-25

Scripture: 25 This is because the foolishness of God is wiser than human wisdom, and the weakness of God is stronger than human strength.

Observation: We are created in the image of God.

Application: Today’s scripture made me think about something that some people may think is totally off base. To be honest I am not so sure where I stand myself with it, but I will stop beating around the bush and get right to it since you probably already know the general direction of my thought from the title of the post.

The verse that I shared above speaks about the foolishness of God being wiser than humans and the weakness of God being stronger than humans. When I thought about this I asked myself, is there such a thing as the foolishness and weakness of God? Is there any area of God’s existence where he might do a self-evaluation and think that he needs to improve? I mean, Genesis tells us that we are made in the image of God. Psalm 82:6 says I hereby declare, “You are gods,
children of the Most High—all of you!
Jesus quotes this passage in John 10:34 Jesus replied, “Isn’t it written in your Law, I have said, you are gods?” If we look at ourselves very long we have to admit that we are all foolish and weak in varying degrees across the course of our lives. Even though God is much wiser and much stronger than us, is it possible that he, like all of us, has weakness?

I do not have a great theological wrap up here for this thought. I wish I could impart some wisdom that would answer this to my own satisfaction and to yours. I have to admit however that I am somehow comforted to think that God really did create us like him, and that we may be closer to the likeness of God than we realize. Call this heretical or blasphemous if you must, let the inquisitions begin, I am not troubled, I am inspired.

Prayer: God who created me in your image,

I marvel at the directions the scripture takes me at times. Please help me to find wisdom and guidance in order to bring myself into a closer walk with you and to become more like Christ.

Yield: I recognize that God is greater than my shortfalls, so I surrender my self-doubts and trust in his providence.

Leave a Reply

