Behold A New Thing


Scripture: Isaiah 43:18-20

18Remember ye not the former things, neither consider the things of old. 19Behold, I will do a new thing; now it shall spring forth; shall ye not know it? I will even make a way in the wilderness, and rivers in the desert. 20The beast of the field shall honour me, the dragons and the owls: because I give waters in the wilderness, and rivers in the desert, to give drink to my people, my chosen.

Someone sent this scripture to my oldest son last night in a txt message on his phone.  He didn’t know who it was.  There is a great message here.  I pray that the seed of wisdom that was sown will take root and bring about that “New Thing.”  Whoever it was that sent the message if you’re reading this – I thank you.

When I first came to Chapel Hill UMC Isaiah 43:19 came to my attention and became my theme for quite some time.  I felt as if God was doing a new thing by bringing me here where I was a little bit out of my comfort zone and learning to minister in new and exciting ways.  I became more dedicated and worked harder for God than I had in quite some time and it has been wonderful! 

Now God is doing more new things in my life as I consider returning to school to further my education and better prepare me for the work of God that still lies ahead.  Today I remember this scripture where God promises that he will do a new thing, but on this occasion I notice the previous verse as well.  Remember ye not the former things. 

A friend of mine whom I had lost touch with until recently shared a quote from the movie Young Guns “The past is like an old yellow-backed novel, when you’re done with it you throw it away and start a new one.”  In this I see God.

The past doesn’t matter, you can’t change it.  Tomorrow is going to come in it’s own time, there is no need to worry about it.  Today – Now – this moment is what is most important, it is Now that you can make a difference and start moving into a New Thing!

God grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change;
courage to change the things I can;
and wisdom to know the difference.

Love, 

Michael

Leave a Reply

