Fisher Of Men


Mat 4:18-20

Mat 4:18  And Jesus, walking by the sea of Galilee, saw two brethren, Simon called Peter, and Andrew his brother, casting a net into the sea: for they were fishers.
Mat 4:19  And he saith unto them, Follow me, and I will make you fishers of men.
Mat 4:20  And they straightway left their nets, and followed him.

In the short time we have been in Chapel Hill we have had many experiences, I don’t want to say any were bad because I know that God uses all of these things to work together for our good (Rom 8:28) but some have been painful, as you know.  We have been blessed in so many ways though, and I can really feel the presence of God working with us here, I know we are right where we are supposed to be and I praise him for that today.

One of the things that has been a fun blessing to me since we came here is I have a renewed passion for something that I loved as a child but hadn’t done very much of in years.  FISHING! I had only been fishing once or twice in probably the last twenty-five years but when we got to Chapel Hill and I met our next door neighbor Larry, he invited me and Beth to go.  He took us out on his boat to Normandy lake and we had a really fun day fishing, didn’t catch anything but that was ok, we had a great time nonetheless.  So I really don’t think I had fully caught the fishing bug until  I went out with him a second time and managed to make this big catch…  (sarcasm intended)

image Yes that is an actual catfish.  I know it looks more like bait than a catch but there it is anyway and I was happy to get it!  When I posted this picture on my face book, my aunt said…

  • Frances Ledbetter Matthews Well Mike at least you are a fisher of man…

    Ha Ha – very funny! (I love ya Frances!)  But at the same time, what an honor it is to be thought of in that way.  I have worked very hard to be a fisher of man as Jesus called his disciples to be.

    So this brings me to an interesting fishing tale that happened over the labor day weekend.  I was out at Henry Horton Park fishing with Beth, we had been there for a few hours when some of her friends from school showed up on the other side of the river and were swimming and splashing around.  We made our way over to them so she could join them and I was wading in the water casting a line, with absolutely no luck whatsoever.  Then I heard a voice from above me at the campsites say “Hey Preacher!” I turned to look and saw a curious sight.  It was a lady whom I had never met, she had a broken leg, purple hair and was wearing a Christian T-Shirt.  She asked me if I could baptize her, this kind-of threw me for a loop.  I had no thoughts of doing a baptism while I was out fishing, I was in no way prepared, it was very odd.  To make a long story short, we worked it out and I agreed to do the baptism.

    image You never know what you’ll catch when you go fishing in the Duck River. When she came up from the water she quoted Rev 22:12 And, behold, I come quickly; and my reward is with me, to give every man according as his work shall be.

    Mary has a wonderful way of putting things into perspective for me.  When I went home, the first thing she asked was if we caught anything.  I told her no, then told her about the baptism.  She said “You never know what you’ll catch when you go fishing, you caught what you were supposed to catch.”

    WOW – you know?

    God works in mysterious ways!

    Thank you God!

    Thank you for putting us in the right place at the right time, and presenting us with opportunities to do your work.  Even though we may not know how or why, you are always there, always leading and guiding and watching over us.  Thank you for allowing us to experience the spark of Divine nature that can reside within when we allow you to have your way.

    Love Always,

    Michael

  • Advertisements

    Leave a Reply

    