Treasures In Heaven


Matthew 6:19-21 (New International Version)
19″Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. 20But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moth and rust do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. 21For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also

41047_1594400897571_1162408002_31748495_7672520_nMost of you know that it’s been a difficult few weeks for my family.  Last week shortly after I sent out the church E-mail newsletter, our family dog Buddy passed away.  We miss her very much but know that we will see her again.  I truly believe that animals are part of God’s creation and that they will be a part of heaven.  It’s not only Buddy that we’ve lost recently but, we also lost my grandpa Vance Rockwell early in the year.  Mary pointed out to me last week that Buddy and Pa would be hanging around together, having a good time and waiting for us until we get there.  Yesterday when I came into the office the big fish (not Noah, but rather the Algae Eater that we were given) in my tank was dead.  Kim was looking for him today and I told her about him dying yesterday and this scripture came to my mind.  I said “I guess we are laying up treasures for ourselves in heaven and we are looking for a big reunion up there someday.” 

That’s a new way of thinking about treasures in Heaven.  I always thought of treasures as being things we got there (Heaven) for doing good stuff here.  But you know, for me and I think a lot of people, the biggest and best treasures of heaven will not be the things we have, but it will be the people we get to be around again.  The treasures of heaven will also be the reencountering of the connections of love that we made here in this life.  It’s not that we have stopped loving them, it’s not that they have stopped loving us, it’s just the communication that has been temporarily interrupted.   I look forward to the day when we can all be together again.

Lord God,

Thank you for the time I’ve had with those loved ones whom you have called home to be with you, and thank you for the treasures of their fellowship which are awaiting me when I finally reach my eternal home with you and them.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

