We ALL Work For The Big Guy


Scripture: Habakkuk 1

5 “Look at the nations and watch—
       and be utterly amazed.
       For I am going to do something in your days
       that you would not believe,
       even if you were told.

6 I am raising up the Babylonians, [a]
       that ruthless and impetuous people,
       who sweep across the whole earth
       to seize dwelling places not their own.

7 They are a feared and dreaded people;
       they are a law to themselves
       and promote their own honor.

Observation: Even those who are living their lives without any regard for God are still working for Him.

Application:  This is sometimes a difficult subject to nail down, but I am convinced that whether we acknowledge it or not, we are all working for God.  This however doesn’t mean that the whole world is saved, I am not talking about Universalism.  I am simply pointing out that God uses the whole of His creation to accomplish His purposes.  In the scripture above from Habakkuk God is using a nation of “ruthless and impetuous” people to punish His Children, but just because the Babylonians don’t know that they are being used by God in this way doesn’t make that fact any less real.

Not long ago I came into contact with an old friend whom I hadn’t spoken with in over twenty years.   I mentioned that I had been in the ministry for thirteen years and he replied “I’m glad to hear that you’re working for The Big Guy!”  So I thought of that when I read this scripture this morning.  The Babylonians were working for “The Big Guy” when they conquered Israel. 

Perhaps a separation of terminology would be helpful here.  The journey (life) is not a choice, it’s mandatory, but the route you take is one that you decide for yourself, and your eventual destination depends upon your path.  There are two paths you can go by, there are two choices that we can make (actually there are much more than two but we will confine it to two for the purpose of this point).  You can go down the path of the servant in which you lovingly serve The Lord with all your Heart, or you can go down the path of the slave in which you struggle against God’s plan for you.  In both cases you are working for The Lord, the servant is rewarded, the slave is not.

Rom 8:28  And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.

If ALL things are working together for good to them that love God, I want to be on the side that things are working for, don’t you?  I hope that you know which path you are on today, and I hope that you are leading and encouraging your loved ones to join you on that path. 

May God Bless You!

Prayer: Heavenly Father,

I love you!  Thank you for working all things together for good for me.  Help me to be a loving servant and to reach out to others and show them the way to enter into a relationship of love with you.

Love Michael

2 comments on “We ALL Work For The Big Guy

  1. John Kieffer says:

    Hi pastor

    came across your blog when I did a search about anointing oil.
    My wife has been very depressed lately and this is the most recent of many
    episodes over the years. I have been praying and asking God about
    how to pray for her. A thought came that I could pray for her using
    anointing oil. I read your post about praying with oil and it was what I was looking
    for : something simple and clear.

    If you have time, maybe you could pray for her.
    her name is Elaine. She has struggled with depression and other mental illness
    for many years, and has been hospitalized several times.
    I don’t think anything or anyone can permanently make her well but God.

    God bless you in your ministry.

    John Kieffer

    • Hello John,

      I’m glad to pray for Elaine. I will enter into an agreement of faith with you for her healing.

      Lord God,

      Please touch Elaine and manifest your healing in her life. You are the great physician and we know that through you all things are possible. We claim victory for Elaine right now in the name of Jesus and we claim the power of His blood to overcome all that which is outside of your will and plan in her body and life. I also pray for John, that you would give him comfort and strength as he loves Elaine and is standing beside her grant him the ability to persevere until that which you would have accomplished is complete and your promises are made strong and firm. We thank you for what we are going to see happen in in this family and in their lives, we praise you for the testimony and witness that their victory will bring to you.

      All this we claim and pray with faith in Jesus Name.
      Amen.

      God Bless You John and Elaine.

Leave a Reply

