God Rewards Persistent Faith


Scripture: James 1:4

4Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.

Isaiah 29,30,31; James 1 – Passage Lookup – New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation:  If you’re able to continue your walk with God through the trials and tribulations that you face in life you will be abundantly rewarded and will grow spiritually closer to The Father.

Application:  A friend of mine named Charles who is a member of one of the first churches that I served told me a story once that I think of  whenever I think of perseverance through struggles.  Charles is a farmer and likes to ride mules, so I think that made this story stick in my memory even more.  I don’t know if I can get it word for word like he told it, but I think I can retell the heart of it for you.

There was once a farmer who was digging a well on his land, and one of his mules wandered by after dark and fell into the open well.  The farmer wasn’t able to get the mule out, even though he tried several times.  Finally the farmer decided that the only choice he had was to just bury the mule down there in the well and put him out of his misery so he would at least not starve to death.

So the farmer went out to fill in the well and bury his mule.  To the Farmer’s surprise, every time he shoveled some dirt into the well it would fall down and hit the mule on his back and the old mule would just shake it off under his feet and shuffle around on top of it.  He would throw more dirt down, and the mule would shake it off and stomp it down.  The more the farmer filled the well, the more the mule shook off the dirt, and stomped it down, and higher and higher the mule was.

The mule shook off the dirt that was thrown on him, and stood on top of it all the way to the top of the well and back to the field from which he fell.  That is a good lesson in perseverance for us!  We may feel like we’ve fallen down a well sometimes, and that the world keeps trying to bury us by heaping more and more dirt down the well, but if we have God on our side He will give us the strength that we need to shake off the dirt and stomp it down under our feet so that we can rise back up and walk once again in green pastures.

4Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.

Prayer:  Father God Almighty,

Help me to be persistent and stubborn enough to keep shaking off the dirt and stomping it down under my feet. I thank you for your love, grace, and Lord – Thanks for throwing down the dirt.

Love Michael

3 comments on “God Rewards Persistent Faith

  1. frances matthews says:

    very good blog Mike…I am setting here at 12:45 am, unable to sleep, looking for a word from God…I think I just found it…thank you…I love you dearly…
    frances

  2. Prince nnorom says:

    Persistance is an advance level of faith.pressing on in difficult time…….

Leave a Reply

