Serving God


 Scripture: Psalms 116:

13 I will lift up the cup of salvation
       and call on the name of the LORD.

14 I will fulfill my vows to the LORD
       in the presence of all his people.

15 Precious in the sight of the LORD
       is the death of his saints.

16 O LORD, truly I am your servant;
       I am your servant, the son of your maidservant [c] ;
       you have freed me from my chains.

17 I will sacrifice a thank offering to you
       and call on the name of the LORD.

18 I will fulfill my vows to the LORD
       in the presence of all his people,

19 in the courts of the house of the LORD—

Isaiah 4,5; Psalms 115,116; Jude – Passage Lookup – New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation:  Serving God is not always easy, but it IS always a blessing!

Application: My family and I have moved into a new parsonage in Chapel Hill and are settling in to the community.  We have been welcomed and shown a great deal of love by our new Church family and feel very blessed.

It’s always difficult to start off in a new place.  Loading everything that you own into a truck and putting it somewhere new is not only difficult physically but also emotionally. We made some wonderful friends whom we love dearly at Pisgah and moving away from them is the hardest part.   I’m sure that most of us know this from experience and understand the pressures that come with a move. But I think that the blessings far outweigh the struggles, especially when you know that God is involved and leading you.

When I started in the ministry I said "Lord, lead me where you want me to be and I’ll go." and I have tried to be loyal to that and I think that God honors a willingness to serve and enables you in ways that you are not able to accomplish alone. 

God has certainly opened the door for us here and my family and I are so excited to be serving Him in a new place.

Prayer

God, help us to serve you with your people wherever we are and wherever you lead.  Thank you for guiding us into a new era of ministry and help us always to glorify you in all that we do.

Amen

2 comments on “Serving God

  1. frances matthews says:

    I’m glad you are posting journals again Mike…and I hope you are very blessed in your new church…Love you

Leave a Reply

