Teach Me Something New Lord!


Scripture: Luke 16:

16"The Law and the Prophets were proclaimed until John. Since that time, the good news of the kingdom of God is being preached, and everyone is forcing his way into it. 17It is easier for heaven and earth to disappear than for the least stroke of a pen to drop out of the Law.

Genesis 39,40,41; Luke 16 – Passage Lookup – New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation: Changing a traditional teaching is practically impossible.

Application: I don’t know if its because I’ve been used to reading this scripture in the past in the King James Version or if I just haven’t reflected on it seriously enough in the past but this morning I get a new message from it, one that is different than I’ve ever understood before.  As I look at it in the KJV v 17 says “And it is easier for heaven and earth to pass, than one tittle of the law to fail.” That always said to me when I read it in the past that God’s word would always prove true and could never be changed.

As I look at it in this version I see a little different meaning.  17”It is easier for heaven and earth to disappear than for the least stroke of a pen to drop out of the Law.”  This makes me think about how Jesus was changing some things about the traditional way in which people thought about and related to God.  Jesus taught that God was much more accessible, much more forgiving, more loving, more with us.  These were new concepts and it was hard for the religious people to lay aside their old ideas about God and accept the new things that Jesus taught.  It would be easier for heaven and earth to disappear than for them to look at their well established ideas in a different way.

Maybe you’re like me and have always thought about this scripture as backing up the Bible and its authority, and I’m not trying to change that for you.  But look at it in a different way and think that perhaps it might be teaching us something new.  Something about being open to new understanding could be our lesson that God wants to teach us.  One thing is sure, God is good, all the time, and he is trying to teach us good things all the time.  God doesn’t stop teaching us through inspiration of His Spirit, through inspiring words from others, through new ideas that we may never have thought of before.  We never get to a point where we know all the answers.  Let’s keep that in mind.  Don’t make God have to move heaven and earth just so you can learn something new.  Open your heart and mind and listen to what that still small voice of love is saying to you right now.

Prayer: Loving Father,

Thank you for your wisdom and your spirit that dwells within.  Grant me an open mind and heart and help me to be able to accept and learn new things as you bring them before me and reveal yourself to me in new ways. 

Love Michael

2 comments on “Teach Me Something New Lord!

  1. […] Pastor Michael's Life Journal Scripture and Reflection *Please Bookmark And Check Back Often* « Teach Me Something New Lord! […]

  2. Kerri says:

    Thank you for this new look into His word. I appreciate fresh insight so much.

Leave a Reply

