Will You See The Kingdom?


Scripture: Luke 9:

27I tell you the truth, some who are standing here will not taste death before they see the kingdom of God."

Genesis 23,24;Luke 9 – Passage Lookup – New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation: The Kingdom of God is at hand.

Application: I’ll never forget the night a German lady who I had come to know through one of my dearest church families said to me during a revival through the influence of The Holy Spirit, “Michael, The Kingdom of Heaven is calling you.”  At that time I wondered what her words meant.  Was I being called home?  Was I about to die?  Was I heading to a place beyond this life?  No.  The Kingdom was indeed calling me, but not from a far away place, The true Kingdom of God is within. 

The Kingdom of God desires to be discovered by each of us.  Jesus told the disciples, “some who are standing here will not taste death before they see the kingdom of God.” Many will say that Jesus was referring to the transfiguration which is described in the following verses after this statement, some will say that this was an esoteric prophecy of the apocalypse, some will say Jesus was talking about his own death and resurrection.  I see this as a simple statement that most of them didn’t understand.  Jesus was trying to teach them that the kingdom of God was something that they could see while still alive.  It’s not something they had to wait to die to experience, it’s available, it’s “at hand” as John the baptist preached.

I reiterate what Jesus said to his disciples two millennia ago to all of you who are disciples today.  Some of you who are reading these words now, will not taste death before you see the kingdom of God.  But you will not find the kingdom by searching for it on a map, or by making a pilgrimage to a far away land.  The pilgrimage that you must make starts within your own heart and soul.  Instead of searching for God and His Kingdom in a distant future, or in some unfolding of prophetic events, you must acknowledge the power of God that He has blessed you with today.  See the kingdom in the life that He has given you, and in the love that He is even at this moment pouring out upon you.  You are a child of the creator and the kingdom of his creation is all about you and within you.  You don’t have to look very far, you only have to look deep within.

God is trying to show you something wonderful.  Take some time to listen, take some time to feel His presence beside you and you can see The Kingdom now while you live your life for Him.

Prayer: God of all kingdoms

Help me to experience your presence and power in every thing that is around me.  Help me to feel you in the chair I rest in, the grass I walk on, the air I breath and the sun that shines down.  Help me to feel your love in the snow that falls and the rain that replenishes the earth.  Let me lift up my eyes and know that you are there in the breath of the wind and that your power is demonstrated in the lightning that crosses the sky.  Help me everyday to acknowledge and experience your kingdom.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

