Sister Sarai


Scripture: Genesis 12:

10 Now there was a famine in the land, and Abram went down to Egypt to live there for a while because the famine was severe. 11 As he was about to enter Egypt, he said to his wife Sarai, "I know what a beautiful woman you are. 12 When the Egyptians see you, they will say, ‘This is his wife.’ Then they will kill me but will let you live. 13 Say you are my sister, so that I will be treated well for your sake and my life will be spared because of you."

Genesis 12,13,14; Luke 5 – Passage Lookup – New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation: God saves his people from their own mistakes.

Application: This story is kind of strange.  Abram is a man of such strong faith that he left everything to go into a place that he didn’t know, a place that God would show him and now in this time of trouble he totally messes up.  I know that some people say that this is an example of how Abram went toe to toe with Pharaoh and came out smelling like a rose because of God.  But I can’t help but to think that there must have been some dire consequences for all of this.

No doubt that God rescued Abram, but Abram made some mistakes here.  He didn’t have enough faith to stay put and let God see Him through the famine, and He didn’t have enough faith that God would keep him safe from the Egyptians.  I guess we all fall short during some points in our life, and our faith is not as strong as it should be.  I know that I can relate to Abram in that sense at least. 

But imagine saying something like that to your wife!  (Paraphrase) Hey honey, you sure are pretty, so pretty in fact that I think it would be better for me if you just went on with these big tough guys who we’re about to meet up with.  Why don’t you just pretend you’re my sister, and they will be nice to me because they’ll want to be with you.  If I tell them you’re my wife, they’ll just want to get rid of me. 

Yeah I just don’t see that going over too well.  It had to have caused some long lasting problems in the marriage relationship.  But even after this lack of faith in God’s protection and providence Abram is still watched after and comes out of the experience seemingly unscathed. In fact he ends up with more than he had to begin with.  Now he’s a rich man!

I don’t know what logic went through Abram’s mind with all of this.  I think it was more fear than anything else that drove his actions.  But God’s promise was not forgotten, and His love was not withdrawn even when Abram’s faith was faltering. And I think it’s like that for us to.  Even when we are weak, God is not surprised, and not distracted by our mistakes. He can take our worst choices and make something good out of them. 

You may have made some mistakes in the past year.  But God can take those mistakes, and make the results be something positive and good this year. You may have given up on yourself, but God hasn’t and He wont.  His promises are still good, His love is never ending, His strength is never failing, and His forgiveness is overflowing.  Thank God!

Prayer: Almighty God,

Thank you for being there for me even when I mess up.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

