Should I Eat More Vegetables?


Scripture: Genesis 1:

28 God blessed them and said to them, "Be fruitful and increase in number; fill the earth and subdue it. Rule over the fish of the sea and the birds of the air and over every living creature that moves on the ground."

29 Then God said, "I give you every seed-bearing plant on the face of the whole earth and every tree that has fruit with seed in it. They will be yours for food. 30 And to all the beasts of the earth and all the birds of the air and all the creatures that move on the ground—everything that has the breath of life in it—I give every green plant for food." And it was so.

Genesis 1,2; Luke 1 – Passage Lookup – New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation: Would we be healthier and happier if we ate more vegetables?

Application: Ok let me start out by saying that I am a meat eater.  I like Bacon, and Beef, I like Fish, and have been known to be a “Glutton for Mutton.”  But my oldest son is a Vegan. (pronounced vee-gun, I think that’s how he says it) Which means that he doesn’t eat meat, but also that he doesn’t eat anything that is produced from animal byproducts such as Milk, Cheese, Eggs ect.  I don’t think I could handle that.  I might Maybe be able to do vegetarian if I really got sold into the idea, but Vegan.  I don’t think I could do it. 

As I was looking over this scripture this morning I couldn’t help but notice that God said "I give you every seed-bearing plant on the face of the whole earth and every tree that has fruit with seed in it. They will be yours for food. 30 And to all the beasts of the earth and all the birds of the air and all the creatures that move on the ground—everything that has the breath of life in it—I give every green plant for food."   Notice he says the seed bearing plants are to be for food.  He also says we are to rule over all the animals, but doesn’t say that they are to be our food.  He says that the green plants are to be for food for the creatures. 

With that said, I also think about the natural way that the creatures of the earth are.  Some are Vegan aren’t they.  Even some of the mammals are that way.  Although many still drink milk, I guess that would make them vegetarian rather than vegan (not sure about that).   Some animals however are carnivores, they eat other animals.  This is natural instinct for them and if you ask me – it’s how God made them.  Are we made with similar instincts as the carnivorous animals to eat meat or would we be more healthy if we went with a vegetarian diet? 

Looking through Gen 1 and 2 today I read that we are made in the image of God. As a Christian I believe that Jesus Christ is “Immanuel” or God With Us.  And you know what?  Jesus ate meat. 

Luk 24:41  And while they yet believed not for joy, and wondered, he said unto them, Have ye here any meat?
Luk 24:42  And they gave him a piece of a broiled fish, and of an honeycomb.
Luk 24:43  And he took it, and did eat before them.

So if God is not a vegetarian, and we are created in the image of God, maybe we were not meant to be vegetarian either.  But then I come back to the Genesis scripture.  Remember that this was the time of the Garden of Eden, when everything was good, everything was in balance, we were meant to live very very long lives in communion with God and with nature.  Maybe at that time we were supposed to live vegetarian lives.  Then after “The Fall” where we ate of the tree of the knowledge of good and evil, and became more “like God” as the serpent told eve.  Maybe then, our instincts of carnivorous diets kicked in.  

Well, I have to admit that I don’t have all the answers here.  I know that there are many references to eating meat that are mentioned in the scripture.  But were Adam and Eve originally vegetarians?  Maybe they were before “The Fall.” 

I don’t know about all of this.  It’s just what stood out to me today in the scripture.  It’s probably not the deepest theological journal I’ve written, but if you follow me regularly I’ll probably take you down several “rabbit trails” as my friend and brother Jimmie Davis often says. :) 

Happy New Year 2010 Everyone!  I hope you have a very blessed year, may this one be the best so far!   I smell bacon and ham in the kitchen.  Time to go eat, haha! 

Prayer: God of all,

Thank you for providing us with the sustenance that we need to survive, no matter whether we are meat eaters, vegetarians, or vegans.  May we all be partakers of “The Bread of Life” which flows abundantly from you.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

