The God Of Love In Us


Scripture:  1 John 4:

16And so we know and rely on the love God has for us.
      God is love. Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in him. 17In this way, love is made complete among us so that we will have confidence on the day of judgment, because in this world we are like him. 18There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love.

19We love because he first loved us. 20If anyone says, "I love God," yet hates his brother, he is a liar. For anyone who does not love his brother, whom he has seen, cannot love God, whom he has not seen. 21And he has given us this command: Whoever loves God must also love his brother.

1 John 1,2,3,4,5 – Passage Lookup – New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation: Love is the key to having God in your heart and living a life which is pleasing to Him.

Application: It is Christmas!   I hope you have a wonderful day! 

There are several things about our modern celebrations of Christmas that disturb me, like how much money we spend, and how its more about presents than presence for some.  With my grandfathers illness that we have been going through I’ve really been thankful that we can all just say “I love you, Merry Christmas!” 

My wife has been working for Home Shopping Network in the sales department this year and part of their policy has been to wish everyone “Happy Holidays.”  Does that ruffle your feathers a bit?  Do you think they should have to say “Merry Christmas” instead?  I can understand the Happy Holidays policy – there are people from all kinds of faiths and traditions who call in, some celebrate Christmas and some don’t so Happy Holidays is a generic good tidings kind of thing to say and shouldn’t offend anyone.

For the past several years I’ve noticed that Christians are more and more adamant about the “Merry Christmas” greeting.  Which is fine but – I think sometimes it can be taken too far.  Some of the callers that my wife encounters get so upset because she says “Happy Holidays” rather than “Merry Christmas” that they will cuss her out saying things like, “I’m a (blank blank) Christian (blank) it – and I want you to say Merry Christmas.  I am NOT kidding about this.  She has gotten more than one response like this and I am just thinking, – Ok – how much of a Christian is a person who cusses someone out for not using the holiday greeting that they want to hear?

The scripture above speaks to me today in that the true sign of a Christian – the true sign that God is IN us and the true spirit of Christmas should be demonstrated by the Love that we have for others.  If you want the real reason for the season to be manifested in your life today – show your love for others.  You don’t have to fight against others or fuss and cuss about how others celebrate this time of year.  Just show your love for others and the God of Love will make His home in your heart and manifest Himself in your life.

Prayer: God of Love,

Help me this Christmas, and every day to demonstrate your presence in my life through love for others.  Help me to serve you by serving others, and let me not miss an opportunity to demonstrate kindness and compassion for all whom I encounter.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

