I Am Barabbas


 Scripture: John 18:

39But it is your custom for me to release to you one prisoner at the time of the Passover. Do you want me to release ‘the king of the Jews’?"

40They shouted back, "No, not him! Give us Barabbas!" Now Barabbas had taken part in a rebellion.

John 15,16,17,18 – Passage Lookup – New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation:  We all have been given the same reprieve that Barabbas was.

Application: Barabbas was a political prisoner, he had killed someone, he had rebelled against the authorities, he had committed a crime, and probably many more crimes than the one he was currently incarcerated for.  The Jewish officials persuaded the crowd to ask for Barabbas and deny Jesus.  But Barabbas, as much as we like to paint him in a negative light, and put some of the blame on him really had nothing to do with it.  For Barabbas, he was simply the recipient of divine grace and pardon.  His sins were forgiven, and an innocent man went to the cross in his place. 

Only Jesus didn’t go to the cross only for Barabbas but for you and me and every person who has ever lived and been bound by the slavery of sin that leads to spiritual death.  We are all Barabbas, and we are all beneficiaries of God’s mercy and grace as he sends Jesus to the cross to be the propitiation for our sins.

Prayer: God Who Forgives,

Thank you for sending Jesus to pay the penalty for me that I should have paid.  Thank you for loving me enough to send your son.  Please forgive me of my sins, cleans me in The Blood of Jesus and make me white as snow.  Help me to serve you in everything that I do and grant me your spirit as guide.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

