Two Things Are Certain


Scripture: John 11:

25Jesus said to her, "I am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in me will live, even though he dies; 26and whoever lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?"

John 9,10,11 – Passage Lookup – New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation: There are two paths, two roads, two destinations that you can take in life. 

Application: If this sounds scatter-brained, it’s because that’s how I feel right now, so please bear with me and try to make sense of these ramblings.  Maybe there is something of value hidden in here somewhere.  I hope at least…

Since last Saturday I’ve been in Cookeville.  I’ve missed two Sundays now at church and I miss my wife and two children who are back in New Johnsonville very much.  Every night I sit with Pa, I talk to him when he feels up to it,  I put his feet back in the bed, I give him drinks of water, sometimes he will eat a few bites of applesauce,  I get the nurse if he needs something I can’t do, and I pray for him. And I know there are many others, many of you who read this who are praying for him as well.  I thank you for your love and for sending your positive thoughts for him.  It seems very unlike Christmas time for me right now – but I have to say that even though I wish it could have happened under better circumstances, I have been extremely blessed to be able to spend this time with Pa this past week.  

Things are looking up for Pa right now. When I first arrived the Dr’s said he had less than three days.  Friday I was told he probably didn’t have another 48 hours.  He has gone way past all of that, and I praise God, and I thank God for his miracles. He seems to be getting stronger – we think we may be able to move him from the hospital to a nursing home for a while, and if he continues to improve who knows – maybe back home eventually.  I hope so! 

But what I wanted to tell you about today was something that Pa said to me a few hours ago.  He said “There’s only two things that are certain in this world.”  “What two things Pa?” I asked, expecting to get the death and taxes answer.  “Heaven and Hell” was what he said. 

That’s right isn’t it…  Heaven and Hell – two destinations.  One of them, you can get to without even trying.  The road to Hell is easy, wide and many go that way.  The other is a destination you don’t get to by accident.  You must work out your own salvation with fear and trembling.  We are all spiritual beings, living in physical bodies.  The spiritual journey is tied to that physical body in that you must pay attention to the spiritual while in the physical so that the spirit can go on to Heaven.

Even though I am very encouraged by his improvement and I have more hope right now than I have had all week, still I realize that Pa has a very limited amount of time left, and I think he does to.  But one thing I’m happy to say with certainty is that he knows where he’s going, and he knows who’s waiting for him on the other side. 

We all travel down the road of life, and although the paths may seem similar, there is a point where they may diverge.  You must make the right choices before you come to that great fork in the road.  You must accept Jesus now.  Don’t wait until it’s too late and you realize that you neglected the greatest gift that mankind has ever known.  "I am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in me will live, even though he dies; and whoever lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?"

Prayer: Father God,

Thank you for sending your Son Jesus to pay my penalty on the cross, so that I might be fully reconciled to you and be welcomed into your glorious kingdom of light when I cross through the portal of physical death.  Be with those who are mourning now and give them comfort.  Help those who are nearing the end of their journey but have yet to accept the truth of your love come to a sudden and dramatic realization of the salvation that is found in Christ Jesus.  Help me to be a witness of your glory and a good servant at your table.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

