I’m Gonna Be Ready


Scripture: 2 Peter 3:

10But the day of the Lord will come like a thief. The heavens will disappear with a roar; the elements will be destroyed by fire, and the earth and everything in it will be laid bare.[a]

11Since everything will be destroyed in this way, what kind of people ought you to be? You ought to live holy and godly lives

2 Peter 1,2,3; John 1 – Passage Lookup – New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation: No one knows when they will stand before God and have to account for their lives.  So we better be ready at any time.

Application: One of the wise ones that God put in my path as I was entering the ministry was the Reverend Ted Maloof who has now gone on to be with The Lord.  He was a man who loved to talk.  He loved to go on about anything at all.  He had a wide knowledge of doctrine, tradition, scripture, and he used his intellect to bring the faith together in a way that people appreciated and understood.  One day when he was asked by a young man who had recently become a Christian what he thought about the book of Revelation, and if he thought we were living in the times described in that book.  Rev. Maloof replied simply and directly by saying.  “I don’t know but, I’m Gonna Be Ready.

This scripture speaks to me today because its a message for all of us.  Don’t let your guard down, don’t think that God will delay forever and that you have all the time in the world to make things right.  Even those who are prepared to die are sometimes surprised when they find death approaching.  Even if the Lord tarries in his coming, you may be standing before him tonight.  Face each day with gratitude and joy and embrace your life with gladness, but go forth as one who is prepared to die to this life and take up the better life to come.

Prayer: God Almighty,

Help me to be ready.  May I always keep my lamp ready to shine for you, and walk the straight path that you set my feet upon.  Forgive me when I falter and bring me quickly back to you.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

