Becoming Restored


Scripture: 1 Peter 5:

10And the God of all grace, who called you to his eternal glory in Christ, after you have suffered a little while, will himself restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast. 11To him be the power for ever and ever. Amen.

1 Peter 1,2,3,4,5 – Passage Lookup – New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation: Everything that this world and this life takes away, God will restore and so much more than we could imagine here will be given to those who are called to His eternal glory.

Application: The last few days I’ve been spending a lot of time in my grandfathers hospital room. I am by his side now as I write this entry.  I’ve had a lot of time with “Pa” and I am grateful for it.  He is not only my grandfather, but he is also a teacher and friend who has inspired me in so many ways that I am sure I would not be what I am or who I am today without his influence.

I can remember the first time I ever thought seriously about being a preacher, Pa told me one day, “If I had been able to get more education, I think I would have been a preacher.”  I saw it from that moment on as a noble thing that if Pa wanted to do that, I should want to do it myself. 

Since I arrived on Saturday, I’ve spent more time alone with Pa than I have in many years.  It’s sad that it takes times of tragedy like this to bring us together and make us really appreciate each other, but I am so glad that I’ve been able to be here, and I plan on staying as much as I can. 

This scripture speaks to me today because it reminds me of something my grandfather’s pastor said as he prayed with us this evening.  “My brother is going through the birthing process.”  And that is exactly what is happening.  What the world sees as death, we are able to look at gloriously as the beginning of new a new life.  Behold, all things are becoming new!  Praise God!

This is a very difficult time for me and my family, and I ask you to remember us in your prayers.  No matter when you read this whether today, tomorrow, next year or whenever, I believe that your prayer will reach across time and touch us now because God works outside of time and across ageless spans.

This time of suffering is as fleeting as a vapor, none of us have more than a breath to go before we are restored by Christ our Lord.  Yes Lord Jesus – come.

Prayer:  God of restoration,

Please grant strength to your servants who are suffering.  Relieve their pain, strengthen their hearts, and comfort their souls.  Please help me to be a kind hand to all who you place in my path so that I may be a reflection of you to the world.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

