Blessed Departure


Scripture: 2 Timothy 4:

6For I am already being poured out like a drink offering, and the time has come for my departure. 7I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. 8Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day—and not only to me, but also to all who have longed for his appearing.

2 Timothy 1,2,3,4 – Passage Lookup – New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation: What a powerful witness it is to see a saint preparing for their departure from this life of pain to receive their reward.

Application: As I read this scripture this morning I can think of no one other than my grandfather, Vance Rockwell.  At this moment he is laying in an ICU unit a hundred and fifty miles away from me and I feel so bad because I’m not there.  He has been my Paul and I have been Timothy. 

My wife’s work prevents her from leaving unless it’s for a funeral, or immediate family emergency because she has used her sick days up this year, and I can’t leave her here very long because we have only one vehicle.  We are waiting for him to come around enough so that he knows we are there to visit him because our time will be limited.  I wonder if Timothy had things he had to set in order before he could make his journey to Paul after receiving this call to visit one last time.

I know my journals have been very short, and maybe not the most insightful or inspiring writings that I have done.  Now you know why.  My mind is not focused here.  I apologize to any who feel that I haven’t given them my best lately.

Please say a prayer for my family and especially for my grandfather Vance.

Prayer: Oh God.

Let me make it home before winter.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

