The Ultimate Patience of Christ


Scripture: 1 Timothy 1:

15Here is a trustworthy saying that deserves full acceptance: Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners—of whom I am the worst. 16But for that very reason I was shown mercy so that in me, the worst of sinners, Christ Jesus might display his unlimited patience as an example for those who would believe on him and receive eternal life. 17Now to the King eternal, immortal, invisible, the only God, be honor and glory for ever and ever. Amen.

1 Timothy 1,2,3,4 – Passage Lookup – New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation: I Praise God for his patience and mercy for me.

Application:  I have often felt unworthy to serve God in the capacity which I do.  Who am I to stand before God’s people and teach and preach and speak the words of life?  I am unworthy.  And I am amazed continually that He always allows me patience and guidance, and occasionally a confirmation that I am where He wants me to be. 

Paul may have thought himself to be the worst of sinners, but that is only because he never met me.  I am the fullest repository of the grace of God.  I am not boasting in my imperfection, rather I rue my own weakness.  But as I do this I am filled with thanksgiving because I know that I serve a God of pure love who is patient and kind and longsuffering, who bears all things and never backs down from the challenge of saving a wretched worm such as I.

Prayer: God of unending mercy and grace,

I thank you that your patience is fresh for me each morning.  Please forgive me of my transgressions and lead me into your everlasting peace.  Help me to be obedient in my journey as I walk through the life you have blessed me with in faith and trust of You and Your Son Christ Jesus.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

