Do It All For Jesus


Scripture: Colossians 3:

15Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace. And be thankful. 16Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom, and as you sing psalms, hymns and spiritual songs with gratitude in your hearts to God. 17And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

Colossians 1,2,3,4 – Passage Lookup – New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation:  What a great world we would live in if all of our actions were done with Jesus in mind and in His name.

Application: The Church should be all about making a positive impact on the world around us.  And although many Christians live their lives with this in mind I think there are still far too few of us who spend more time battling against the powers that be than trying to serve our fellow man and walk in love for one another.

We should be creatures of peace, grace and forgiveness because we have experienced these things through Jesus.  If we focus our lives on the true work of Christ, which is bringing people to a closer understanding of God’s love for them, we will find that the battles we have thought were so important are not as big of an obstacle as we at first perceived.  Peace and Love drives out fear and anger, Grace and Forgiveness triumphs over intimidation and might.

For God made the weak things of the world to triumph over the mighty, and the foolish to reign over the wise.  Why?  Why is it that God uses those things that would seem such an uncommon tool against adversity to triumph?  Because through these uncommon victories we are shown that it is not by our own doing that victory is won, but only through the will of the Almighty and his mercy, strength and love that we win the race and reach the goal.

Prayer: Father of Mercy and Peace,

Grant me the strength to do all things with you in mind and in the name of Jesus.  Let me think of my fellow man before I think of my own gain.  Let me think of how I can serve you before I think of how I can help my self.  Grant me your forgiveness and grace, your strength and wisdom and guide me in my life so that I may demonstrate your love to all whom you put me in contact with.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

