What Choice Do I Have?


 Scripture: Romans 8:

29For those God foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the likeness of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brothers. 30And those he predestined, he also called; those he called, he also justified; those he justified, he also glorified.

Romans 5,6,7,8 – Passage Lookup – New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation: Sometimes we have a hard time working out the harmony in predestination and free will, but in God’s plan they go hand-in-hand.

Application:   So – if I am predestined to be something then it’s going to happen because God has predestined it and it has to be.  Right?  Not necessarily. You see, just because God has predestined you to a certain thing doesn’t mean you HAVE  to do that thing. God predestined Adam and Eve to live immortally in the garden with Him in constant communion with nature and God but THEY chose to go in a different direction by disobeying. 

As I think back on my own life I truly feel that God predestined me for the ministry that I’m currently working in.  But just because I was predestined for it, and called to it didn’t mean that God came down and forced me to do it.  I made the decision to follow God’s call as best that I could and it has been a great blessing for me since then.  But I could have gone the other way.  I could have turned aside.  And in fact for many years I refused to listen to the call and ran away from my destiny. 

We can choose what we are going to do and what we are not going to do.  Now with that said, let me encourage you to listen to what God is calling you to do.  Be aware of those things that God sets before you, and the opportunities that you are presented with because even though you can choose not to follow God’s plan for you, usually doing so means you will not be fulfilled and happy.

During my "Running Years" as I like to call them, during that time when I was refusing to answer the call on my life I was miserable.  I could not hold down a job, my life was a series of one disappointment to another and things just didn’t mesh.  It wasn’t until I accepted the path that God was leading me to that I felt I had finally found myself and was doing what I was supposed to do.  

Even still, and even now I find myself facing difficulties, doubting my own worthiness, doubting my abilities and wondering if I’m doing the right thing.  But I have the assurance that what God has called me to do, He will also enable me to perform, and what He has led me to, He will also lead me through!

You are predestined to something in life, I really believe that.  But you still have the choice, and you still have to DO it, and you still face difficulties along the way.  But if God is with us, then it doesn’t matter what may come against us, because He that is within is stronger than anything that we face from without.

Prayer: God who called me,

Thank you for placing a purpose into my life and thank you for leading me through the tough spots in the road that I encounter along the way.  Please help me to have the strength and wisdom to see where you are guiding me and to be able to follow the path you lay out before me.  When I hesitate, urge me back toward the way that leads to you. 

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

