What Is God Calling You?


 Scripture: Romans 4:

17As it is written: "I have made you a father of many nations."[c] He is our father in the sight of God, in whom he believed—the God who gives life to the dead and calls things that are not as though they were.

Romans 1,2,3,4 – Passage Lookup – New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation: God sees your potential above your present circumstances.

Application: Our God is a God who calls things that are not as though they were.  In other words, God sees in you your highest potential and that is what you are to him.  You are the best that you can be in God’s eyes.  Some people who are not preachers, God already knows to be a preacher.  Some people who are not teachers, God already knows to be a teacher and calls you as such.  God is calling you something – What is it? 

You have a purpose, and that purpose is to serve and glorify God with the talents that He gave you and with the hopes dreams and ambitions that He has placed in your heart.  You may not be living up to the highest potential that God sees in you at this moment, but that doesn’t mean that you can not.  To God you already are what He knows you’re going to be and what you can be.  He said to Abraham.  I HAVE (Past Tense) made you a father of many nations.  At the point in time when He said this to Abraham, he was not then the father of many nations, and even though Abraham got to live to see the birth of that nation in Isaac, he didn’t (during his earthly life) see the fulfillment of it as we can today.  From our perspective Abraham indeed IS the father of many nations.  

God sees you as the best and highest that your potential can take you to, even though you may not be able to see that from your perspective now.  One day you will know that God is right. 

Listen to the calling that God is placing in your heart and follow that calling because God knows what you are!   What is God calling you?   Think about it.

Prayer: Father of my highest potential,

Thank you for seeing those things in me that I can not see.  Thank you for believing in me more than I do myself, and thank you for enabling me to answer the calling that you have set me to.  I ask for strength, courage and wisdom to carry out the work that you set before me.  Let me not turn away, back down, or be discouraged beyond my endurance.  Forgive me when I fall short and set the path aright in my heart and in my actions.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

