Black Friday


Scripture: Matthew 27:

45From the sixth hour until the ninth hour darkness came over all the land. 46About the ninth hour Jesus cried out in a loud voice, "Eloi, Eloi,[c] lama sabachthani?"—which means, "My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?"[d]

47When some of those standing there heard this, they said, "He’s calling Elijah."

48Immediately one of them ran and got a sponge. He filled it with wine vinegar, put it on a stick, and offered it to Jesus to drink. 49The rest said, "Now leave him alone. Let’s see if Elijah comes to save him."

50And when Jesus had cried out again in a loud voice, he gave up his spirit.

51At that moment the curtain of the temple was torn in two from top to bottom. The earth shook and the rocks split. 52The tombs broke open and the bodies of many holy people who had died were raised to life. 53They came out of the tombs, and after Jesus’ resurrection they went into the holy city and appeared to many people.

54When the centurion and those with him who were guarding Jesus saw the earthquake and all that had happened, they were terrified, and exclaimed, "Surely he was the Son[e] of God!"

Psalms 125; Matthew 26,27 – Passage Lookup – New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation: It was a black day for the disciples, but God had a plan.

Application:  They call the day after Thanksgiving Black Friday.  I’m not sure exactly what the originators of that term meant but I know it has to do with the biggest shopping day of the year.  All the sales are on today.  I’ve already gotten several big deals via E-mail this morning even before I woke up very good.  But I title this message Black Friday for a different reason.  It was definitely a Black Friday for the disciples and it seemed like it was for Jesus to, but there is good news on the way on Sunday!

I personally don’t plan on going ANYWHERE today.  I don’t like trying to shop on these days, it stresses me out too much.  I’ll do my shopping online thank you.  :)  But if you’re part of the masses that are out there getting deals today, I wish you well, I wish you peace, and I hope you find all the deals you need for your shopping this holiday season.  Don’t let yourself get too stressed out – and be sure to take time to think about the Friday that looked blackest for the disciples, the terrible price that was paid for you on the cross at Calvary by Jesus seemed at first like defeat.  But victory was on the way.

Prayer: Lord God,

Thank you for being able to take the blackest of days and turning them into victories in my life.  Thank you for taking this black Friday that is in our scripture this morning and bringing about the greatest victory that mankind has ever known.  Help me to know that when things seem hard, stressful and hopeless that you can turn it all around in a matter of days.

Love Micahel

Leave a Reply

