When He Calls, Do You Answer?


 Scripture: Matthew 22:

1 Jesus spoke to them again in parables, saying: 2 "The kingdom of heaven is like a king who prepared a wedding banquet for his son. 3 He sent his servants to those who had been invited to the banquet to tell them to come, but they refused to come.

4 "Then he sent some more servants and said, ‘Tell those who have been invited that I have prepared my dinner: My oxen and fattened cattle have been butchered, and everything is ready. Come to the wedding banquet.’

5 "But they paid no attention and went off—one to his field, another to his business. 6 The rest seized his servants, mistreated them and killed them. 7 The king was enraged. He sent his army and destroyed those murderers and burned their city.

Matthew 20,21,22 – Passage Lookup – Today’s New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation: It’s easy to let our own agenda get in the way of what God is calling us to do.

Application: Don’t tell me that I’ve not done everything God wanted me to do in this!  I’ve prayed, and cried, and done everything I could and Nothing has changed.  You don’t know what I’ve been through, you don’t know how much trouble this has been for me.  Don’t you tell me that God wants to use me still, I’ve done all I know how to do!

These are words of defense and anger that you get from people who have given up and decided to go their own way rather than to follow God’s plan.  Sometimes we start out with good intentions, thinking that we are going to be obedient to God, but after a season we decide that God is not working fast enough and that we need to take matters into our own hands.  It’s a subtle change, one that often we don’t even recognize, and once we are there we lock ourselves into this destructive mindset with our own pride. 

So we busy ourselves with our own agenda, going about still convinced we are following the right path and then sometimes God will send a messenger to help move us back in the right direction.  Woe to the messengers who come to us at these times because we fight back at them with all we are.  "You’re not a true person of God!" They will say, "God wouldn’t try to stop me from doing what I’m doing, I’m doing it FOR God!" 

Saul, Saul, why do you kick against the goads?

Messengers of God are sent to bring you into a place that God is preparing.  It is a place of feasting and happiness.  Do not continue to plow the same old fields just because you’ve done it for a long time now.  Don’t let your pride keep you from the true blessings that God is trying to give you.  Life is about change, and if we are listening for God’s call we Will be called to change from time to time.

As you are preparing for Thanksgiving tomorrow – I hope that you are hearing the good news that God is sending you.  The banquet is prepared!  Come!

Prayer: Father,

Thank you for your guidance and love.  Thank you for calling to me even when I have gotten into a rut and went my own ways.  Please grant me the soundness of mind to hear your messengers and to recognize them for who they are.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

