Forgiveness – Spread It Around!


Scripture: Matthew 18:

32 "Then the master called the servant in. ‘You wicked servant,’ he said, ‘I canceled all that debt of yours because you begged me to. 33 Shouldn’t you have had mercy on your fellow servant just as I had on you?’ 34 In anger his master handed him over to the jailers to be tortured, until he should pay back all he owed.

35 "This is how my heavenly Father will treat each of you unless you forgive a brother or sister from your heart."

Matthew 17,18,19 – Passage Lookup – Today’s New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation: No matter what I see as fault in another, I am obliged to forgive it because I have been forgiven so much by God.

Application: There are people in my life that I feel have done me wrong, and I confess that I have sometimes wished that they would get what was coming to them.  I can not count the number of times that I’ve thought "Yeah – well what goes around comes around buddy!"   But if I look at my own life before I think about what they have done to me,  I begin to realize that I have been forgiven of so much by God that I am obliged to forgive all of those who have wronged me and much much more.

I am the man who owed a thousand bags of gold and was forgiven of every one.  Who am I to toss someone into prison over a few pieces of silver?  All I can do is point the way for others to the one who is so rich in mercy that He forgave a debt as large as mine.  Look, I am but a sinner like you, but God forgave me and chose to use me as a friendly face along the road to point toward that great celestial city where He resides. 

Follow the path of peace, the path of love, the path of forgiveness and you will find Him.  As you travel, don’t get misguided by your own pride or selfishness, for things like that will surely lead you off the path.  Focus your eyes of faith on The God of Peace and Love, for you are worth more to Him than all the debt you owe.

Prayer: God of Heaven,

Thank you for forgiving me of my great debts.  Thank you for showing me that you are full of mercy and truth.  Thank you for sending your Son Jesus to pay the price that I could not pay and allowing me to be clothed in His righteousness.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

