What Have You Done?


 Scripture: Matthew 16:

27 For the Son of Man is going to come in his Father’s glory with his angels, and then he will reward everyone according to what they have done.

Matthew 14,15,16 – Passage Lookup – Today’s New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation: Our actions here are building up rewards for us in heaven.

Application:  I don’t want to sound like I’m talking about a works based salvation here today.  This is not about salvation.  This is about what you do after you’re saved.  Jesus talked about coming and rewarding everyone according to their good works.  So is there going to be levels of rewards in heaven you ask?  Yes, I think so.

No doubt that just getting to heaven would be enough to make you ecstatic and so grateful and just being there would definitely be enough for me.  I  would be satisfied with a cabin in the corner of glory land as the old song says.  But that doesn’t mean that I wouldn’t rather have a mansion just over the hill top!  Why should you not try to increase your rewards there, by doing good things here?

We are just visitors in this land.  Don’t decorate your hotel room, send your treasures on home ahead of you!  Accepting Jesus as Lord and being saved is the most important thing a person can ever do, but after that we should strive to bring forth fruit worthy of salvation and lay up for ourselves treasure in heaven where moth and rust doesn’t destroy and thieves can not break in and steal.

Prayer: Heavenly Father,

Help me to send forward good things that I do in this life to be my rewards in the life to come.  Help me to work each day that you give me toward another crown, another reward, another nail in the walls of that mansion in glory.  Help me to do what you would have me to do, accomplish what you have sent me here to accomplish and when my work is done, bring me home to be with you.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

