Looking Up From My Knees


Scripture: 2 Corinthians 1:

8 We do not want you to be uninformed, brothers and sisters, about the troubles we experienced in the province of Asia. We were under great pressure, far beyond our ability to endure, so that we despaired of life itself. 9 Indeed, we felt we had received the sentence of death. But this happened that we might not rely on ourselves but on God, who raises the dead.

Job 41,42; 2 Corinthians 1,2 – Passage Lookup – Today’s New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation:  Sometimes we have to get to our lowest points in life so that we can look up and see God.

Application: It’s a sad fact of life that when things are always good and easy, we tend to start believing that we made them that way.  We start trusting in our own abilities and merits rather than putting our trust in God.  When things are bad, when times are hard, it is often then when we will finally turn to God and throw ourselves fully into His arms.  It is then when we long for His embrace, beg for His mercy, call out for His comfort.

Paul talks of times when he and those with him were in so much distress that they didn’t even want to live anymore.  Can you relate to that?  I know I can.  I’ve been down that road a time or two.  But sometimes it is there on that hard road that God’s providence enfolds our lives and we are fed by the bread of everlasting life.

If you are facing a difficult time right now, could it be that you need to just turn it all over to God and allow Him to carry you through it?  Stop trying to walk this journey by yourself, The Father is with you and at your side.  Lean on God in your hardships, allow Him to carry you through your darkest days.  He is the one who brings life to those things that are dead, and restores ashes to strong timbers.  When you fall on your knees, Look Up!  Your God is with you!

Prayer: God who is Here,

Thank you for never leaving me, even when I face troubles and conflict.  Guide me through all the turmoil’s that I must face and teach me patience and trust in you.  Allow me to endure with knowledge that you are with me and that you are for me.  Keep me strong in my faith for you and in my leaning on you for my every need.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

