What Part Do You Play?


Scripture: 1 Corinthians 12:

4 There are different kinds of gifts, but the same Spirit distributes them. 5 There are different kinds of service, but the same Lord. 6 There are different kinds of working, but in all of them and in everyone it is the same God at work.

Job 37,38; 1 Corinthians 12 – Passage Lookup – Today’s New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation: We are all important in for the work of God, and we all are given our roles to play.

Application: I’ve thought quite a bit recently about those who have supporting roles in ministry which do not put them in the spotlight very often.  There are so many people who support me, and although they are rarely recognized, they are vital in my ministry and I could not do it without them.  I’ve had people who have helped me out in so many different ways over the years whether it was through prayer, financial help, or practical things like, helping me with yard work, or fixing a busted water pipe, helping me break into the back door when I forgot my keys, or one of the many other little supportive helps I’ve been blessed to receive over the course of my ministry. 

These people who have been there for me, have helped me to do what I do in my ministry, but they are not noticed by the masses very often.  Their ministry is no less vital and important than mine, its just simply a different role that we play.  The same spirit that anoints me to do my ministry also anoints them to do theirs, and it’s the same God that we both serve and glorify through those works.

I know it’s not much, and I know its not done often enough, but I just want to say here that I love and appreciate everyone who is behind the scenes in my life.  Thank you for being my backstage crew, for standing in the wings and cheering me on, for praying for me and loving me, for giving me an understanding ear and a compassionate shoulder to lean on when I felt alone.  Thank you for doing those practical things that must be done when I wasn’t able to do them for myself.  Those of you who are in my corner – you are my angels, my strength, my power.  God Bless YOU!

You may feel like you don’t get recognized very often, but I see you, I appreciate what you do, and love you for it.  God sees you, He knows that you were given a gift, a talent, a resource that you have shared, and because you have used those things in love, you will have treasure laid up for you where it counts the most.

Prayer:  God Almighty,

Thank you for the support of those in my life who don’t get the recognition that they deserve.  Help me to be thankful, not only here, and in my silent prayers for them, but let me share with them my gratitude and appreciation so that they know I care, and that what they do means so much to me.  Help me to recognize them, and encourage others to do the same.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

