Love Is All We Need


 Scripture: Galatians 5:

13 You, my brothers and sisters, were called to be free. But do not use your freedom to indulge the sinful nature [a]; rather, serve one another humbly in love. 14 For the entire law is fulfilled in keeping this one command: "Love your neighbor as yourself." [b] 15 If you keep on biting and devouring each other, watch out or you will be destroyed by each other.

Job 31,32; Galatians 5,6 – Passage Lookup – Today’s New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation: If we focus on loving each other, the rest of what God desires from us falls right into place.

Application:   I’ve never been a super big fan of the Beetles, although I do like them, and enjoy listening to them from time to time.  I even had the first big anthology CD collection, my wife bought it for me as a gift and I enjoyed listening to it very much.  I think I’ve lost most of the CD’s now though.  The lyrics to one of their songs stands out in my head this morning as I read these verses.  And I’m also reminded of the movie "Michael" staring John Travolta as a very earthy, indulgent angel on his final romp through earth sitting in the back seat of a station wagon singing the words to that song with great enthusiasm.

Youtube usually yields some fairly specific result for me but I couldn’t find a clip of that particular scene – here is a sing-along for you anyway.  🙂

Yes – all you need is love.  Because God IS love and we are of God and so we are made to love one another.  If we can ever get to a place where we put our hatred aside and just love one another we will find the kingdom on earth as it is in heaven.

Prayer:  Lord God Almighty,

Help us to love one another as we have been so loved by you.  In spite of our differences, let us reach out in compassion and understanding and learn to be the children of light and love that you have built us to be.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

