God Didn’t Turn Away


 Scripture: Mark 15:

33 At noon, darkness came over the whole land until three in the afternoon. 34 And at three in the afternoon Jesus cried out in a loud voice, "Eloi, Eloi, lema sabachthani?" (which means "My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?"). [a]

Job 26,27; Mark 15,16 – Passage Lookup – Today’s New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation: God was still watching over Jesus.

Application: For years I saw this passage as the only time in Jesus’ life where He experienced life without God.  I believed that God had turned His back on Him at this moment because Jesus had taken on the Sins of the world.  Here He became sin for us, and because God is holy, He will not be in the presence of Sin and so at this moment He turned away from Jesus.  This makes sense doesn’t it?  But recently I have come to see it in a little different light.

I don’t think God turned His back on Jesus here.  Because Jesus had taken on our sins, He felt distance from God, but even so, God had not let go of Jesus.  Think of the prodigal son parable.  Even though the son had distanced himself from the father, the father never gave up on the son, and continually looked for him and watched for his return.  God doesn’t abandon us because of our sins, we are the ones that pull away from God.

I don’t know about you but I can relate to how Jesus felt.  I know his suffering and pain here far exceed anything I’ve ever gone through, but there have been times in my life when I have wondered if God had forsaken me.  I have even quoted this scripture in anguish and tried to say it in the Aramaic tongue as Jesus would have.  But you know what?  God was not as far away from me even in those times as I felt that He was.

The single set of footprints in the sand are not yours.  You are not alone.  God has not abandoned you.  Rom 5:8  But God has shown us how much he loves us—it was while we were still sinners that Christ died for us!

Yes we may FEEL as if God is far away, but He is not.  Reach out in faith and touch the Holy Spirit as He stands right by your side.

Prayer: God who is there.

Thank you for never leaving me or forsaking me.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

