I’m Lifting My Eyes


Scripture: Psalms 121: 

1 I lift up my eyes to the mountains—
       where does my help come from?

2 My help comes from the LORD,
       the Maker of heaven and earth.

3 He will not let your foot slip—
       he who watches over you will not slumber;

Psalms 121; Mark 9,10 – Passage Lookup – Today’s New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation: We need your help Lord!

Application:  Yesterday my daughter told me she was having a hard time breathing.  I was at a loss as to what I should do for her.  I started thinking maybe we have some nasal spray or something in the medicine cabinet so I started toward the bathroom.  She started crying as I turned to walk away, so I went to hug her and console her, I took her in my arms and said, "Everything is going to be alright honey,"  just then she went limp in my arms and passed out.

I panicked and yelled for my wife who was sleeping after working a double shift overtime. She ran into the bathroom where I had carried Beth and I splashed cold water on her face, she came around and got to feeling better very quickly.  I took her to the ER where they did blood work, and found out that she is diabetic.  What a shock it was to find this news.  And it came just after I had promised Beth that she wouldn’t get stuck any more today.  Unknowingly I lied.  She ended up getting stuck and jabbed and pricked numerous times yesterday.

Today I write my journal from her room in Vanderbilt Children’s Hospital in Nashville.  Family and friends are doing all they can to help, many prayers are being lifted up at this moment for her and I am thankful that God is with us.  I know that our help has come from Him.  Without God, and without God’s people who have been there for us and continue to be there I don’t know what we would have done or what we would do. 

I lift up my eyes to the mountains –

Prayer: Lord Almighty,

Be with my daughter, and be with my family.  Watch over us and do not slumber.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

