Do Unto Others


Scripture: Mark 4:

24b …"With the measure you use, it will be measured to you—and even more.

Job 20; Mark 3,4 – Passage Lookup – Today’s New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation: What goes around comes around.

Application: What you do comes back to you.  This concept that Jesus was teaching is something that has a place in almost every religious system in the world. It has been taught by various teachers in ancient Judaism, India, Greece, and China but it is best known through our Lord Jesus when he puts it this way "Do unto others what you would have them do unto you." 

Many have termed it The Golden Rule, but there is also a negative side to it.  The lesser known Silver Rule speaks of the wrongs we do to others and this is probably closer to our scripture this morning than The Golden Rule; If you do evil to another, that will also come back to you. As Jesus says here in Mark, "With the measure you use, it will be measured to you – and even more."

So we need to not only be aware and conscious of the opportunities to do good that come our way, but also of the opportunities to avoid the bad.  What you send out comes back to you, so make every moment, every action, every thought and word count.  What goes around comes around.

Prayer: Father in Heaven,

Help me to shine forth in love so that I may receive love in return.  Forgive me, and help me to forgive others.  Strengthen me and help me to strengthen others.  Lift me up so that I may lift up someone else.  Guide me and help me to lead someone in need of guidance.  Let me measure out good so that I am measured the same and more in my own life.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

