Powerful Praise


Scripture: Acts 16:

25 About midnight Paul and Silas were praying and singing hymns to God, and the other prisoners were listening to them. 26 Suddenly there was such a violent earthquake that the foundations of the prison were shaken. At once all the prison doors flew open, and everyone’s chains came loose.

Job 11,12; Acts 15,16 – Passage Lookup – Today’s New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation: Within your praise you can find power to carry you through your most difficult times.

Application: Although Paul was still a fairly new Christian his zeal was and enthusiasm were strong.  That’s often the way it is with us when we first come to the faith, we are fired up, we are full of praise, we are full of power!  Sadly that fire fades in some of us over time. 

We just finished a revival at church and I am thinking back to how zealous I once was.  Time has moved on, and I have changed, but God is still just as powerful, and the faith and fire that I once had is still just as available to me if I reach out and take it.  This week I have re-evaluated my spiritual health and found that I have gotten lazy in my exercise of praise.  Praise brings about spiritual power, and if we are needing more from God, we need to praise Him more.

If I can praise God when I’m going through my hardships, if I can praise Him in my weakest times, then He will strengthen me and the power of the Holy Spirit will carry me through whatever I’m facing. 

For Paul and Silas, praise is what activated the power of God which released them.  Their faith was strengthened, as well as the faith of those around them, and all were blessed by what God did in that prison. 

I don’t know what chains are holding you back today, I don’t know what situations you may be facing or what difficulties you feel tied down to, but whatever it is, try just praising God.  Do it openly, and without fear of what others may think, and watch what God will do!

Prayer: Heavenly Father,

Help me to praise you and acknowledge you in all places of my life.  Let me not be afraid or ashamed, and set my soul on fire as it was when I first came to know you.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

