Better Off Than Job


Scripture: Job 9:

33 If only there were someone to arbitrate between us,
       to lay a hand on us both,

34 someone to remove God’s rod from me,
       so that his terror would frighten me no more.

35 Then I would speak up without fear of him,

    but as it now stands with me, I cannot.

Job 9,10; Acts 13,14 – Passage Lookup – Today’s New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation: Sometimes we all feel as if we are going through trials like Job did, but we have something that Job didn’t have.

Application: In the preceding verses Job realizes that no matter how holy he may think that he has been, he is still guilty before God.  He realizes that he is standing before a Holy and Righteous being who is far above mortal man.  How can he converse with the Almighty?

I know that in my life many times I’ve said "I feel like Job!"  Maybe you’ve said the same thing, or at least felt that way.  Perhaps you have felt as if everything happens at once, you can’t get over one bad thing before another bad thing comes along.  Sometimes life happens too fast and we wonder if we can even handle what has already come around, not to mention the new things that must be coming.

We have an advantage over Job though, because we do have someone to arbitrate between us and God.  If we were to stand on our own before God and plead our case, we wouldn’t have a leg to stand on.  But God loves us so much that He gave us an advocate in His Son Jesus Christ.  Jesus is the one Job longed for in the verses above – He is the one who removes God’s rod so that we can speak to Him without fear. 

So – when we feel that we are at the end of our ropes and we have no where to turn, we can be thankful that God send Jesus to stand in the gap between us and Him.

Prayer: God of Love,

Thank you for sending Your Son Jesus Christ, my Lord and Savior to be the advocate between me and You.  I call upon the name of Jesus to save me from myself and allow me to stand before God, not by the virtue of my own self, but upon the justification of Your righteousness and holiness.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

