Don’t Forget God


Scripture: Job 8:

11 Can papyrus grow tall where there is no marsh?
       Can reeds thrive without water?

12 While still growing and uncut,
       they wither more quickly than grass.

13 Such is the destiny of all who forget God;
       so perishes the hope of the godless.

14 What they trust in is fragile [a];
       what they rely on is a spider’s web.

15 They lean on the web, but it gives way;
       they cling to it, but it does not hold.

Job 6,7,8; Acts 12 – Passage Lookup – Today’s New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation: When you face difficulties and trials, don’t forget the one who can bring you through it all.

Application: We are in the midst of a Revival at Pisgah this week and we are being blessed by my friend Rev. Robert Hargrove with some wonderful messages.  He has promised something very special on Wed night (our final night of the revival).  I would encourage you to put off any other plans and be there if at all possible.  Service starts at 6:30pm.  {if you need directions e-mail me :)}

Last night Bob asked us if we had ever been angry with God and if we might be angry with Him now.  I have to admit that I have been angry with God many times in my life, and yes I am a little angry now.  Things have not been easy over the past several months, no, actually the whole last years of my life seems to have been a constant struggle to be very honest about it.  Oh I know that I’m not alone, and the whole nation is in a difficult time, but it’s not just finances, it goes beyond that.  Now that’s not to say that I haven’t felt the presence of God, or that every day has been a bad day, far from it.  Most days are great, most days I praise Him without hesitation – but there are those times when (whoah boy) I do kind of feel like Job here. 

In the previous chapter Job cries out

"If I have sinned, what have I done to you,
       you who watch over us all?
       Why have you made me your target?
       Have I become a burden to you?
"

Yeah Job – I feel ya my brother.  Can I get an Amen?

The scripture above is Job’s friends advice for him.  In essence they say – "Don’t forget God, turn to God, Love God – He will bring you through."

But how do you turn to God when you’re mad at Him, when you feel that He’s out to get you?

Bob talked about this some last night.  It’s like when we have to punish a Child, we don’t want to do it, it doesn’t make us happy, and in fact when they correct their behavior, we are quick to drop the punishments and get things back to the way they were.  But it’s like the phrase Bob said he often says to his daughter "I’m not your buddy, I’m your father." 

If I’m experiencing what I think may be God correcting me, maybe I need to be looking at my life and finding out what I’m being corrected for.   Hmm?  If I’m being purged, pruned, corrected and chastised, then what is it that I need to change?  Well – I"m looking Lord!  And I’m not forgetting you!

Prayer: God of Heaven and Earth,

Teach me to be the man you want me to be.  If I am to be purged, then purge, if I am to be corrected, then correct.  Guide me into the right path that I may serve you with all that I am and bring me through the valley and into the blessed light of your everlasting love.

Love Michael

2 comments on “Don’t Forget God

  1. MOM says:

    I think it is OK to get mad at God, He’s a big boy – He can take it. Just like when you get mad at me, don’t forget who loves you most !!!!!

Leave a Reply

