Season’s In The Kingdom


Scripture: Psalm 1

BOOK I
Psalms 1—41

1 Blessed are those
       who do not walk in step with the wicked
       or stand in the way that sinners take
       or sit in the company of mockers,

2 but who delight in the law of the LORD
       and meditate on his law day and night.

3 They are like a tree planted by streams of water,
       which yields its fruit in season
       and whose leaf does not wither—
       whatever they do prospers.

4 Not so the wicked!
       They are like chaff
       that the wind blows away.

5 Therefore the wicked will not stand in the judgment,
       nor sinners in the assembly of the righteous.

6 For the LORD watches over the way of the righteous,
       but the way of the wicked will be destroyed.

Nehemiah 11,12; Psalms 1; Acts 3 – Passage Lookup – Today’s New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation: God does everything right on time every time, all who seek God will prosper when the time is right for them to do so.

Application:   I had to memorize this Psalm when I took my black belt test in 1986.  I’m so glad that the Lord led me to a group of martial artists who revered Him and sought to promote that respect and love.  I feel very certain that I would never have become a minister had I not been around those good people in my teenage years.

It’s something how God works.  This Psalm speaks of a tree bringing forth good fruit when the time is right.  For many years I left karate behind, and now when I’m 40 I’m coming back to it with a renewed passion.  And this psalm shows up in my daily reading after I’ve been thinking of all these things so much again. 

You see, for years I had told myself that the part of my life where I was active was over, I was too old to do those things anymore and I would just have to slow down.  And because I let myself believe that – it was true.   You know, the enemy will try to tell you that you’ve missed your season.  It’s too late – if you had tried years ago maybe you could have made a difference, turned that child around, fixed that marriage, gotten that promotion ect. but now its too late, you’ve waited too long – you’ve missed your season.

That is the lie I had bought into, the deception of the father of lies which had brought me down and squashed my spirit and made me forget who I truly am.  But the good news is, I didn’t have to stay in that dark place.  I was able to come out and realize that my season had not yet gone, and in fact that a new season was just dawning. 

I don’t know what it is that the enemy has been talking to you about.  But if he has told you that you’ve waited around too long and missed your season, I want you to really think about that today and pray about it and ask God to guide you into a new season of fruitful victory and success.

Prayer: Father God,

Thank you for bringing me through the seasons of my life.  Thank you for the new seasons that are now dawning.  Help me to be fruitful and serve you in all things.   I love you and praise you and ask for your spirit to dwell in every moment of my life.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

