Asking God For The Same Things


Scripture: Luke 11:

9 "So I say to you: Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. 10 For everyone who asks receives; those who seek find; and to those who knock, the door will be opened.

11 "Which of you fathers, if your son asks for [f] a fish, will give him a snake instead? 12 Or if he asks for an egg, will give him a scorpion? 13 If you then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give the Holy Spirit to those who ask him!"

Zechariah 1,2,3; Luke 11 – Passage Lookup – Today’s New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation: When I pray the same prayers for the same things every day, it’s not about reminding God – it’s about reminding myself.

Application:   I’ve often wondered if God ever gets tired of hearing me ask for the same things day after day.  My prayers change when certain circumstances arise of course, but there is always a foundation from which I ask the same things daily from God. Protection for my family, strength to serve, forgiveness for failure, these are elements that are always in my prayers.  Does God get tired of hearing the same things over and over?  I mean I am talking to the supreme creator of the universe, the one who has all knowledge and all power, and who am I to constantly remind him that I desire these things?

I read this scripture and Jesus is encouraging us to ask from the Father isn’t He?  Yes I think so.  I think He’s saying ask and keep on asking, seek and keep on seeking, knock and keep on knocking and if you ask and seek and knock long enough, the door will be opened.   So since God is all knowing, why do I need to keep on asking? 

I think the answer is not that I need to keep reminding God of what I need, but rather I need to keep reminding myself that I need these things through God’s help.  I can’t claim victory in life without acknowledging that it came from God.  All blessings flow from God!

I think back to a sign I once saw at a church in my hometown.  The church has been gone for years, and a bank stands where it was now, but the message of the sign stays with me, it said "Prayer doesn’t bring God down to man; it brings man up to God."  So the act of prayer, the reminding of what I need and where the source of my strength comes from is something that is more of a reminder to myself.  Yes God knows my needs and I don’t have to tell God what they are, but I need to know that when I see those needs met, that it is by God’s grace and because of His love for me that the doors are opened.

Prayer: God who hears prayers and answers needs,

Thank you for the great gift of prayer.  I praise you that I can come to you and be lifted up in my spirit, make my petitions to you, seek your face, and find forgiveness through prayer.  Help me to pray in the right way, and through your Spirit allow me to make a difference not only in my life but in the lives of the ones I pray for.

Love Michael

One comment on “Asking God For The Same Things

  1. lisa says:

    Brother Mike, prayer is one of the greatest gifts given to us by our Heavenly Father. We can talk to our Father anytime day or night and just have a complete conversation. we need to ask Him always for forgiveness and strenghten our faith. we need to ask for our daily needs and He will give them. God is Great and we truly need to acknowledge it in a personal way. Praise be to God the Father and to Jesus Christ our intercessor, Amen. God Bless you all. love, lisa

Leave a Reply

