Do You Think He’s Coming Back?


 Scripture: Revelation 22:

16 "I, Jesus, have sent my angel to give you [a] this testimony for the churches. I am the Root and the Offspring of David, and the bright Morning Star."

17 The Spirit and the bride say, "Come!" And let those who hear say, "Come!" Let those who are thirsty come; and let all who wish take the free gift of the water of life.

Ezekiel 42,43,44; Revelation 22 – Passage Lookup – Today’s New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation: Jesus is coming soon!

Application:  Recently I have come back to something that I thought I had left behind, happily I have found it again and have a renewed passion for it.  It’s Karate!  I know it may sound silly to some, but for me Karate was not about feeling tough, it was a discipline that helped me grow into the person that I am today.  For many years I had left it behind, but my kids helped me get back into it by continually asking me to teach them.  So a few weeks ago I started a beginners Karate class at church.  We’ve had some great turnouts and even my wife has started working out with me.

Because I had been out of practice for so long I needed to contact a person who could help me get reoriented into it.  I got in touch with the chief instructor of United Karate in Dalton GA and as we spoke on the phone and I told him about me being in the ministry he was very happy to hear what I was doing and supportive of my ministry and the class.  He said, "let me ask you a theological question, do you think He’s coming back?"  I said, "Yes I do!"  "Do you think it will be soon?"  "Yes!" I said. Then he said, "So do I."  It was a simple exchange about a concept that I sometimes allow to slip into the back of my mind.

It’s easy for me to get caught up in the study of the scripture, thinking about the environment of the times and the attitudes and intentions of the authors.  As I return to something in my life that I would call my first love (Karate) I am reminded that it was here that I really started thinking about Jesus.  Yes I went to a church and heard preaching and read the bible and got saved, but this was the road I walked to get here.  And the main thing, the most important thing of all the theological concepts is this.  Jesus is coming soon.

Prayer: Lord,

I thank you for bringing me back to a remembering of the most important message of my life and ministry.  I thank you that I can say with certainty that Jesus is coming back soon.  Help me, and all those who you are calling to be ready.

Love Michael

One comment on “Do You Think He’s Coming Back?

  1. lisa says:

    AMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! OUR SAVIOR IS ON HIS WAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! God Bless you all always Brother Mike. love, lisa

Leave a Reply

