He’s Got My Back


Scripture:  Ezekiel 37:

9 Then he said to me, "Prophesy to the breath; prophesy, son of man, and say to it, ‘This is what the Sovereign LORD says: Come, breath, from the four winds and breathe into these slain, that they may live.’ " 10 So I prophesied as he commanded me, and breath entered them; they came to life and stood up on their feet—a vast army.

Ezekiel 36,37; Psalms 110; Revelation 19 – Passage Lookup – Today’s New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation: Even when you can see nothing but defeat, God can bring a victory out of the rubble.

Application:  Israel was defeated, captured, enslaved, they must have felt as if they were in the valley of the shadow of death, as if they were dry bones with no hope and no future.  God sends them a message through Ezekiel that basically says, You may be defeated, but I am not, you may see no hope, but nothing is impossible for Me, I will raise you up from the seemingly impossible situation that you now find yourself in and restore life in you again.

Sometimes we have to be brought down to our lowest point before we truly recognize that it is the power of God who delivers us.  When we are totally hopeless and alone only then will we have no doubt that it is only through God that we have been restored and revived, rescued and delivered, saved and sanctified.  Not by our power or our might, or our will, or our moral character, but by HIS grace and mercy, forgiveness and strength do we live and breath and exist.

I have been to the valley, and I have been lifted up.  Time and time again God has brought me out of the brink of destruction, when I was able to see nothing but darkness, He was the light that led me into victory.  And it is no different now, the valley I lie in is not the final resting place of God’s purpose, it is the beginning of a new life, and a new strength and I can only say. I have nothing to fear even now because I know, He’s Got My Back!

Prayer: God of the valley,

Thank you for never abandoning me.  Please help me to cross through the valleys I face with the assurance that there is nothing you are not prepared for, nothing you have not planned, and nothing you have not foreseen that I will ever face.  When I see no hope, remind me that my hope lies in you.  When I see no future, remind me that my future is secure in you.  Forgive me when I fail to recognize your power and teach me of your boundless love.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

