Lord, I Need Thee Every Hour


Scripture: Lamentations 3:

21This I recall to my mind, therefore have I hope.

22It is of the LORD’s mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not.

23They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness.

24The LORD is my portion, saith my soul; therefore will I hope in him.

25The LORD is good unto them that wait for him, to the soul that seeketh him.

Lamentations 3,4,5;Revelation 15 – Passage Lookup – King James Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation: I am in continual need of God’s mercy, love and guidance.

Application:  What a beautiful morning it is.  I’m on my front porch enjoying the fresh morning air and being reminded by this scripture that God is here.  Sometimes I get the feeling that I know what God is wanting for me and I get so excited and anxious and I just want to be at the destination that I feel I’m being led to, but I must wait for God and seek Him in every step of the way.

I’m reminded of some lyrics from an old Aerosmith song that say "Life’s a journey, not a destination, and how high can you fly with broken wings," maybe that’s quoted from somewhere else but the words are very true.  We may be "running the race," as Paul put it, with the goal in mind, but life is about the steps we take along the way.

I am so thankful that God is there with me in every moment!  I am so thankful that his patience and mercy are as fresh as this morning air and that even when I feel anxious, He is persistent in carrying me through the steps that He knows I need to take so that I may arrive at the destination which He has prepared for me fully equipped to accomplish His purposes.

Prayer:  God of my journey, Father of all creation,

Thank you for walking beside me today and every day.  Thank you for being present in every step that I take.  Please help me to be content in the journey and to enjoy the beauty and glory of your hand as You guide me.  Forgive me when I want to rush ahead and keep my feet planted on the solid rock of your foundation which is in Christ Jesus.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

