Our Deeds Follow Us


Scripture: Revelation 14:

13 Then I heard a voice from heaven say, "Write: Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord from now on."
       "Yes," says the Spirit, "they will rest from their labor, for their deeds will follow them."

Lamentations 1,2; Obadiah; Revelation 14 – Passage Lookup – Today’s New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation: What we do in this life has an impact on us in the life hereafter.

Application: This scripture can be both uplifting and frightening.  I am comforted to know that God will remember the good works that I do in this life, even those which are unknown to others, but at the same time there are things which I’m not proud of and don’t want to have remembered.  I believe that we all make mistakes that we would rather wipe away from the records of heaven, when we pass from this life we want to be remembered at our best and the worst of us forgotten.

The good news gospel tells us that this is only possible through Jesus.  Because of His sacrifice on the cross, paying in full the penalty of our sins, we can rejoice in the scripture above knowing that our labors for God are remembered, but the wrongs in our life are cleansed in the blood of Christ.

This by no means gives us free reign to live carelessly without thought of retribution, even though we are forgiven, we still face the consequences of sin in this life.  We must repent, we must turn ourselves around and do the best we can to live a life of service and dedication to God.  To continue to live without thought of our sin shows a lack of commitment to The Lord, a irreverent and insincere heart.  But when we do fail, when we fall short, we have the blessed assurance that Christ’s blood is sufficient to activate God’s grace in our lives.

Prayer: Father of Heaven,

Please grant me forgiveness when I fail to do what I should or act in a manner unbecoming of Your children.  Keep me dedicated to working for you so that my good deeds and labors follow me when I enter into your presence and help me to spread your love to all who I meet.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

