Standing In The Gap


Scripture: Ezekiel 22:

30 "I looked for someone among them who would build up the wall and stand before me in the gap on behalf of the land so I would not have to destroy it, but I found no one. 31 So I will pour out my wrath on them and consume them with my fiery anger, bringing down on their own heads all they have done, declares the Sovereign LORD."

Ezekiel 22,23,24; Revelation 9 – Passage Lookup – Today’s New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation:  To stand up for what is right, you may have to go against the social norms.

Application:  Israel had fallen into sin, they were greedy and perverse, they were disobedient, they were irreverent before God.  God wanted someone to stand up for what was right before them, to rebuke them and show them the error of their ways but found no one.

I wonder how many hearts God spoke to before He decided that there was none who would carry the message to the people.  And I imagine that those He called would not answer the calling because they feared how this unpopular message of "Repent and turn from your wicked ways," would mark them as a target of ridicule and scorn.  No one wanted to be ousted by the community, no one had the courage to go against the grain and allow themselves to be vulnerable before the people.

Often the messengers of God are unpopular with people.  God doesn’t usually call us to win popularity contests.  Being politically correct is not important to God.  It’s easy to go along with the majority and to stand up and shout with the crowd, but God wants more than that.  God is looking for those who will go against the long established social norms and remind people of what is right. 

The Church is not to be a corporation, Christianity should not be a multi-million dollar industry – but it is.  The church has become the springboard for success to anyone willing to say the things we want to hear.  At the same time true messengers of God stand hungry and alone, cast aside by our pride and haughtiness.   May God reach enough of His people who are willing to go against the grain and speak the truth so that we will not have to fall into destruction by our own stubborn pride.

Prayer:  Lord Almighty,

Help me to stand in the gap and speak the truth that you lay upon my heart.  And bless many others with the courage and strength to do the same.  Help us to put aside our desires to be accepted by mankind, and teach us to look only for approval from You.  Forgive me when I fail to do what you need of me, when I do not stand in the gap as I should, or forgive as I should, or love as I should, and give me the strength to do better every day.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

