Gods Deliverance Comes Right On Time


 

Scripture: Psalm 70
For the director of music. Of David. A petition.

[a] 1 Hasten, O God, to save me;
       come quickly, LORD, to help me.

2 May those who seek my life
       be put to shame and confusion;
       may all who desire my ruin
       be turned back in disgrace.

3 May those who say to me, "Aha! Aha!"
       turn back because of their shame.

4 But may all who seek you
       rejoice and be glad in you;
       may those who long for your saving help always say,
       "The LORD is great!"

5 But as for me, I am poor and needy;
       come quickly to me, O God.
       You are my help and my deliverer;
       LORD, do not delay.

Ezekiel 15,16; Psalms 70; Revelation 6 – Passage Lookup – Today’s New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation:  We often feel that God doesn’t answer our prayers or respond to our needs when we are in our most desperate times, but his knowledge of the future and his plans for us means He will move exactly when and how we need Him to.

Application:  I don’t know about you, but I can certainly relate to David’s psalm this morning as he cries out for God to hurry and rescue him.  "Get me out of this NOW God! I can’t wait any longer and if you let this continue it will destroy me!"  And then, nothing seems to happen.  There is no hand that comes out from the sky to lift me up, no miraculous turn of events to deliver me in that moment, and things go on as they have. 

I do proclaim with joy and gladness that on occasions I have witnessed God working immediately in response to petitioning prayer, but more often it seems that it takes some time before we see the results of God’s interventions.  Why is this?  I have often said that there are no coincidences and no mistakes in life, things happen for a reason and God has a plan.  I’m starting to learn that the truth of that means that what I’m facing is part of that plan, even if I’m anxious for things to change, even if I don’t like what’s happening, God knows what He’s doing.

It’s never too late for God.  Isn’t that great news.  It’s never so messed up that God can’t fix it.  I just have to remember that God is God – and I’m not.  I just have to trust that He loves me and is doing the best things for me to bring me into the positions and places that I’m supposed to be and enabling me to do what He wants me to do when He wants it done. Like David I’m sure that I’ll keep praying, and I’ll keep asking God to hurry – but there is a great peace in knowing that God won’t do anything until the time is right and when it is – HE WILL!

Prayer:  God of all time and all creation,

I thank you for working in my life, right on time – every time.  I thank you that you have orchestrated the events and circumstances that I have faced for a purpose and reason and I trust in you to bring me through it all.  Forgive me when I am impatient and anxious and grant me the peace and serenity to accept that you know the way and you are bringing me through it all to a glorious place of communion with you.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

