Worship In Heaven


Scripture: Revelation 4: 

11 "You are worthy, our Lord and God,
       to receive glory and honor and power,
       for you created all things,
       and by your will they were created
       and have their being."

Ezekiel 8,9,10,11; Revelation 4 – Passage Lookup – Today’s New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation: Heaven is a place of worship.

Application:  The words above are from the twenty-four elders around the throne of God in John’s vision of Heaven.  This is the place where we all want to be, it’s our goal, the finish of our race, and the prize for the good fight.  The object of our worship is the center of this place, and all there are constantly proclaiming His glory. 

If worship is the center of Heaven shouldn’t it also be the center of our church services?  It seems to me that worship is something we rush through without feeling and without heart, we do a set number of songs that we are familiar with and then move on right on schedule so that our services don’t run too long. I know I’m not talking about every church when I say this, and even in the churches where it applies I’m not talking about every person in those congregations.  But I’ve seen so many congregations that have lost the heart of worship, and when that goes, the rest suffers. 

Worship should be the heart of our service.  Worship is why we should come, and the goal in everything we do should be bringing glory to God through our worship, through our singing, through our praising, through our testimony, through the preaching and the teaching and the studying and the Sunday School.  We need to worship in Spirit and in Truth, for this is what The Father desires.

Prayer:  God of Glory,

Let me worship you in the fullness of my heart with every breath I take and every word I speak.  With my thoughts let me lift you on high, and with my actions let me glorify your name.  Forgive me when I fail to worship you as fully as I should and strengthen my soul so that I may bring you my heart and my life as I should, for it belongs to you.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

