He’s Standing At The Door


 Scripture: Revelation 3:

20 Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with them, and they with me.

Ezekiel 4,5,6,7; Revelation 3 – Passage Lookup – Today’s New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation:  The door on which Jesus knocks leads to our hearts, and He desires us to open our hearts and allow love in.

Application: One cool fall morning Charlie woke up to find an envelope laying on the front porch of his house.  He opened it up and read a short letter inside.

Dear Charlie,

I’m going to be in town today, and I’d like to see you. I’ll come by later.

Love Jesus.

Charlie was not all that religious, he attended church from time to time, he prayed a little and read the Bible once or twice a year but he was no spiritual superstar, he wondered if this was some kind of joke, “Why would Jesus want to come see me?” he thought.  He pondered the possibilities of this for a while then decided that if  it was real he should be prepared and make a nice meal for Jesus.  If it wasn’t real, he would just eat the meal himself and that would be that.  He went to his cupboards and realized that he didn’t have enough groceries. He would have to make a trip to the store and buy some food.

He put on his jacket, got in his car and went to the local grocery store to buy enough supplies  to make a nice meal and then headed back to cook for Jesus.  As he left the store he saw a man on the corner holding a sign that said “Family in Need, no food, please Help.”  Charlie had spent all of his money on the groceries but his heart was breaking as he thought of this man and his family in need.  He understood very well how it could happen in such an economic time as this. He realized that the food he bought to prepare a fine meal for him and Jesus would be just enough to feed this family for the day, and decided that Jesus would understand if he told Him that all he had was bologna sandwiches when he came by.

He got out of his car, walked over to the man and handed him the bag of groceries and said “I’m sorry that your family is in suffering, take these and feed them tonight.”  “Thank you so much sir,” the man said, “and God Bless you!”  As the man took the bag, Charlie noticed that he was wearing a short sleeve shirt that was tattered and torn, and he was shivering.  “Here why don’t you take this jacket, my car is warm and I have another one at home” he told the man.  Tears welled up in the mans eyes as Charlie handed him the jacket, and he wasn’t even able to speak.

Charlie got back in the car and headed home, “This Jesus letter is just some prank someone is pulling on me anyway” he thought.  As he drove toward home his cell phone rang.  It was the wife of one of his long time friends “Jeff and I got in an argument and we were yelling at each other, one of our neighbors heard us and called the police.  They came and took him to jail and they won’t let him out unless a property owner signs the bond.  You’re the only friend we have that owns a house, would you please go get him out of jail?  The argument was my fault and I never wanted this to happen.”  Charlie had worked hard for his house and this was a big favor to ask, but he loved his friend and decided he would go and help him.  He went to the police station and signed the bond and took his friend back to his apartment.  By now it was late in the afternoon and Charlie headed back home.

When he was walking back up on his front porch he noticed another letter in the same kind of envelope as the first he had found that morning.  He opened it and read,

Dear Charlie,

Thank you for the wonderful visit, and for opening the door when I knocked.

Love Jesus

Charlie was dumbfounded.  He hadn’t seen Jesus, he had been out all day and what did Jesus mean about a wonderful visit?  He walked inside and went to lay the letter on the coffee table beside the one from earlier and he noticed his Bible laying open on the table and he looked at the spot where someone had marked a big star beside the verses.

Matthew 25:40 (The Message)

37-40"Then those ‘sheep’ are going to say, ‘Master, what are you talking about? When did we ever see you hungry and feed you, thirsty and give you a drink? And when did we ever see you sick or in prison and come to you?’ Then the King will say, ‘I’m telling the solemn truth: Whenever you did one of these things to someone overlooked or ignored, that was me—you did it to me.’

This story has been told many times before, I’m not sure where it originated and this is just my version of it.  I guess I strayed a little from my selection of scripture in Revelation – but I think that both of these compliment each other wonderfully.  Jesus stands at the door of our heart – we let him in by loving one another and ministering to those who are in need.  I hope you have a wonderful day, and that somewhere along the way, you’ll get the opportunity to see Jesus!

Prayer: Abba Father,

Help me to reach out to those in need with whatever I have.  Grant me the compassion and love that you desire to see within me and when you knock on the door of my heart, let me always open up to you.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

