Reluctant Prophets


Scripture: Ezekiel 3:

12 Then the Spirit lifted me up, and I heard behind me a loud rumbling sound as the glory of the LORD rose from the place where it was standing. [a] 13 It was the sound of the wings of the living creatures brushing against each other and the sound of the wheels beside them, a loud rumbling sound. 14 The Spirit then lifted me up and took me away, and I went in bitterness and in the anger of my spirit, with the strong hand of the LORD on me. 15 I came to the exiles who lived at Tel Aviv near the Kebar River. And there, where they were living, I sat among them for seven days—deeply distressed.

Ezekiel 1,2,3; Revelation 2 – Passage Lookup – Today’s New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation:  Ministry and proclaiming God’s word to people is often difficult and many times we can be reluctant to answer the call.

Application:  Ezekiel had a tough ministry no doubt.  He was to prophecy to a people who were in exile, taken into captivity by foreigners and who felt that God had abandoned them.  God had to literally lift him up and put him where He wanted him to be, and like a child being led by the ear he was angry, and reluctant to obey.

The message that God lays on the hearts of teachers, prophets, pastors, and lay people is often not the message that those who it’s intended for want to hear.  It’s not always an easy job.  I admit that there have been times when I was given a message that I was reluctant to share because I knew it would not be received well. I want to be liked, I am always more interested in building up than breaking down.  But there are times when a breaking down must first occur before the building can begin.

Popularity is nice but if I fail to share the messages that God wants His people to hear, then I myself am responsible for their failure to do what God wants them to do.  This is what God told Ezekiel, 20 "Again, when the righteous turn from their righteousness and do evil, and I put a stumbling block before them, they will die. Since you did not warn them, they will die for their sins. The righteous things they did will not be remembered, and I will hold you accountable for their blood.

Look at us today, have we become too haughty and self righteous?  Have we abandoned the calling to seek and save the lost?  It’s time for people of faith to come back to that calling and reach out in new ways that people will respond to.  We are not to set ourselves up in polished temples and praise our own goodness while the world around us waists away.  People of God – do not forget who you are, and what you are called to do.  The message you are given may not be an easy one, and it may not be well received by all who hear it but it IS your calling to share it.

Prayer:  God of my calling,

Help me to share the messages you give me with those who you have sent me to.  Let me not fear rejection or stumble because of my pride.  Keep me on the path that you have set before me and help me to accomplish Your will by sharing the truth of your love and grace through Jesus Your Son.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

