Lesson From A Grand Daddy Long Legs


Scripture:Psalms 143:

4 So my spirit grows faint within me;
       my heart within me is dismayed.

5 I remember the days of long ago;
       I meditate on all your works
       and consider what your hands have done.

6 I spread out my hands to you;
       I thirst for you like a parched land.

7 Answer me quickly, LORD;
       my spirit fails.
       Do not hide your face from me
       or I will be like those who go down to the pit.

Jeremiah 52; Revelation 1; Psalms 143,144 – Passage Lookup – Today’s New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation:  The struggle for life is our life.

Application: God often speaks in very subtle ways, we can easily miss what He is trying to say to us but His wisdom is evident in every part of creation if we are attentive. I know it may seem silly, but this morning I was taught a lesson by watching a Grand Daddy Long Legs as he struggled along on the front porch.  After I finished reading the scripture, I reached down for my drink and saw him about a foot away from my cup, his legs were curled up and he wasn’t moving and I thought “There is a dead Grand Daddy Long Legs” but then he moved.  He struggled up and pulled himself along with great effort, it was obvious to me that this little bug was dying. 

Normally this kind of thing wouldn’t capture my attention so much, but for the next twenty minutes or so I sat and watched him, he would move a little bit then his legs would curl up and he would be still, several times I thought “Now he’s dead” but after a few minutes of stillness he would again struggle and move a little more.  As I watched him I couldn’t help but to be reminded of Jesus’ words Luke 12:6 (MSG) "What’s the price of two or three pet canaries? Some loose change, right? But God never overlooks a single one.” And I thought, God is watching this little fellow right now.  So I figured, there must be something here for me to see, something to learn, this is not a coincidence that I am here at this time and so is this tiny creature who’s nearing the end of his life. He slowly made his way to the edge of the porch with great efforts and finally fell off into the grass below where I could no longer see him. It must have been a great relief to find the earth again.  I imagine that he didn’t live long after that, but I bet that when he died he was at peace because he was back on the natural earth.

Then I turn back to the scripture and say “Ok God, what was that about?”  Then I notice the verses above as if I hadn’t just read them, they stood out to me in a new way.  I see David struggling against his enemies, calling on God to help and doing the best he can to stay alive and fulfill the purpose which The Father raised him up to.  He’s weary, he’s tired, he’s in need.  And God sees him there.  God knows what is happening in David’s life and He cares for him.  God did not overlook David, God did not overlook the Grand Daddy Long Legs on the porch this morning, God has not overlooked me and the struggles I face, and He will not overlook you.  We may face many difficulties in life, but the greatest struggles are where we live the most, learn the most, love the most, and need God the most. 

Prayer:  God of ALL things (including Grand Daddy Long Legs),

Thank you for watching over me during my difficult times, and thank you for allowing me the joyous happy times in my life as well.  All good things come from you, and all things that I think are bad are still within your control and you are there to carry me through them all.  When my struggles in this life are over, grant me the relief of entering joyously into your eternal presence.    I love you!

Michael

One comment on “Lesson From A Grand Daddy Long Legs

  1. lisa says:

    What a wonderful story. i loved it. God Bless you all. love, lisa

Leave a Reply

