The Cup Of The Father


Scripture: John 18:

11 Jesus commanded Peter, "Put your sword away! Shall I not drink the cup the Father has given me?"

BibleGateway.com – Passage Lookup: 2 Kings 24; Jeremiah 22; Psalms 112; John 18

Observation:  Sometimes the things we are called to are difficult to accept, but they all work toward the Glory of God.

Application:   Sometimes I have a hard time understanding why God allows so much struggle.  Why can’t things just be easy for a while, so that I can enjoy my life and praise His goodness?  As I read the words of this verse from John today I know that Jesus could have allowed a revolt to take place starting there in the garden.  Also He could have called upon unimaginable numbers of angelic warriors to fight for Him and save Him from the pain and torment of the cross. 

But Jesus knew that this was what God had sent Him to accomplish, He knew what was going to happen, and how the victory would be won through His own suffering.  I wish I could have the same ability to see beyond the pain that Christ did.  If I just knew what it was all supposed to accomplish, I know I would be strengthened to make it through it as He was.

But I don’t know the purposes, and I guess that’s part of our faith isn’t it?  We don’t know why, and we don’t know what God is trying to accomplish through whatever we are facing, but we have the assurance that He loves us and that when we suffer He is not turning a blind eye to us, He knows what we’re going through and is guiding us toward a greater purpose, even though we don’t understand what it is.

Prayer: Father of the Storms,

Grant me the strength I need to endure the hardships with confidence that it all fits into your plan somehow.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

