God Can Start You Over


Scripture:

Jeremiah 18

The Potter and the Clay

1 The Lord gave another message to Jeremiah. He said, 2 “Go down to the potter’s shop, and I will speak to you there.” 3 So I did as he told me and found the potter working at his wheel. 4 But the jar he was making did not turn out as he had hoped, so he crushed it into a lump of clay again and started over. 5 Then the Lord gave me this message: 6 “O Israel, can I not do to you as this potter has done to his clay? As the clay is in the potter’s hand, so are you in my hand. 7 If I announce that a certain nation or kingdom is to be uprooted, torn down, and destroyed, 8 but then that nation renounces its evil ways, I will not destroy it as I had planned.

Observation: No matter what condition you find yourself in, you are not beyond being recreated by God.

Application: Sometimes people come to a point where they feel that all is lost and there is no hope for the future.  Certain situations can certainly make you feel that way I know (from experience) and it seems that when one thing crashes into you, the Job syndrome kicks in and before you can recover from the first tragedy, another arises.  Problems can compound on top of one another and all you want is there to be an end to it all, even if that means giving up on everything.

This scripture speaks to me today because in it I see that even when I’ve made a complete mess of my life, God can take me and start all over.  As I look back on my life so far I can see where He has done just that a few times already.  I may have made some bad decisions that God would have rather seen me not make, but He has never given up on me.  He starts over and forms me again into something that He can use.

Yes life is often hard to endure, but I renew my hope by seeing God sitting at that potters wheel and forming me, an uncooperative lump of clay into something.  I’m not sure what that something is yet, but one day (maybe when I grow up haha) I’ll be able to know for sure what purpose He has called me to and forged me to perform and I will be strong enough to do it.

Prayer: Father of my clay,

Form me into what you would have me be.  Help me to be responsive to your touch and grant me the strength to endure the shaping of my life.  Forgive me when I fail to cooperate with your guidance and when you have to start all over with me.  Thank you for your patience and kindness and never ending mercy.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

