Remember Who You Belong To


Scripture: John 15:

18 "If the world hates you, keep in mind that it hated me first. 19 If you belonged to the world, it would love you as its own. As it is, you do not belong to the world, but I have chosen you out of the world. That is why the world hates you. 20 Remember what I told you: ‘Servants are not greater than their master.’ [b] If they persecuted me, they will persecute you also. If they obeyed my teaching, they will obey yours also. 21 They will treat you this way because of my name, for they do not know the one who sent me.

BibleGateway.com – Passage Lookup: Jeremiah 13,14,15; John 15

Observation:  We can’t expect to be loved by all the world.

Application:  Jesus came into the world and showed love to all, but He was not received and accepted by all, only a handful of chosen people were able to accept Him and understand His teaching.  To those who had spiritual ears to hear Him, he warned that they shouldn’t be surprised if the world doesn’t embrace them, because they are not of the world, but have been chosen out of it and separated by God.

Back during my running years when I was still denying my calling, I remember being at the house of a close friend, we were about to leave and his father said something to us that I’ve always remembered.  I’m sure he was concerned about whatever mischievous things we might get ourselves into and he looked at his son and gave a simple but powerful word of advice, – “Remember who you belong to.”  Then he looked at me and said “And the same goes for you.”  That simple statement has stuck with me over the years and I still think about it from time to time.  It was his way of reminding us that even though we were about to go out into the world, that didn’t mean we had to become a part of it all.  We were Children of God and we needed to remember that.

It’s good advice still today for all God’s chosen.  You don’t have to be loved and accepted by all the world, in fact if you are then you’re probably messing up somewhere.  If you’re acting like a child of God, then the majority of the world is going to see you as an outsider.  You are called and chosen, and even though you’re in the world, you are not of it and shouldn’t try to change yourself or your values so that you can fit in.

Prayer:  LORD,

Help me to remember that when it seems that the world is against me, you are always with me.  I don’t have to be accepted by the world – I only have to be accepted by You!  Keep me on the solid rock and help me to always Remember Who I Belong To.

Love Michael

2 comments on “Remember Who You Belong To

  1. Andy says:

    Michael – my name is Andy. I’ve been blogging my journal entries since March of this year and recently wondered if anyone else was in the habit and on the same reading plan (and using WordPress) and did a little searching. It’s great to see/find people who find value in the practice. I think everyone should do this! I’ve found the searchability, tagging, and accessibility to my journal invaluable – I know you have too. Have you been able to encourage anyone else to do the same? God Bless

    • Thanks for the comment. I’m glad to connect with you! I’ve added your page to my blogroll. I have found the life journal practice to be very uplifting and meditative. I have recommended it to my congregation, although I don’t think anyone else is actually doing one online, I’m sure there are a few who are doing it on paper. I look forward to reading your journals in the future.
      May God Bless You!

Leave a Reply

