Love One Another


 Scripture: John 13:

33 "My children, I will be with you only a little longer. You will look for me, and just as I told the Jews, so I tell you now: Where I am going, you cannot come.

34 "A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. 35 By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another."

Observation: The greatest evidence that the world has fallen away from God is in the fact that we fail to love one another as we should.

Application:  What is the greatest commandment?  To love God with all your heart, and with all your soul and with all your strength.  Yes, and the second is like it, you must love one another.  When you show love to another person, whether it’s someone you know or a stranger you are simultaneously showing love to God.  That is why these two commandments are similar.  Loving one another does not negate the older and greatest commandment, it doesn’t change it, it fulfills it. 

We have come to a point where if we can’t agree with each other, we feel that we are off the hook when it comes to loving.  Loving all of God’s children, and all of creation is a big undertaking, it’s not something we can lightly brush off.  It is often difficult to love others, especially when we feel that those others are turning against us, and can’t agree with us.  I can easily love my family, and my friends who share the same goals and values as myself, but those who are on opposite sides of the fence when it comes to moral values, or religious theology, those who see me as wrong and misled, those people are harder to love. 

But this is precisely what God expects from us.  Love one another – no strings attached, no what ifs are given, no outs, no excuses available.  Love one another.  This is how others will realize that you are truly God’s Children and disciples of Christ, if you can love when the rest of the crowd hates.  If you can build up while the mob cries crucify, then you are following your Lord.

Prayer:  God of Love,

Thank you for loving me, and letting me experience that love in my life.  Forgive me when I fail to show forth that same love to the world as you would have me to.  Grant me the strength to love others when I find it hard to do so, and let the world know I am yours because I can love them even if they don’t love me.

Amen.

One comment on “Love One Another

  1. lisa says:

    i fully agree Brother Mike. it is very hard to love others when they don’t love you but when you finally get over it and get on with life and start to see the light, what a burden that has been lifted and you are free to love everyone no matter what again. Thanks so much for reminding us all. God Bless always. love, lisa

Leave a Reply

